A Blessing from the Radio Gods
May 04, 2005 - 8:04 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

There's a radio station I frequent when I'm in the car, WXRV. They're local and independently owned, so they play lots of songs I never hear anywhere else. It's a comforting change in the world of the same ten songs over and over.

Yesterday morning, I hesitantly climbed in behind the steering wheel after a lousy night's sleep. My back woke me up at 2:30, crying for more Advil, and it took me far too long to fall asleep again for me to be anything beyond barely functional as I got ready for work. I wanted to be nowhere but propped up in a comfy spot with my heating pad and many cups of tea.

I turned the car key and was greeted by the opening notes of "What is Love" by Howard Jones. I closed my eyes. It was 1984, and I was standing in my messy bedroom with my red Sony boombox blaring Human's Lib as loud as its tinny little speakers would allow.

I love you whether or not you love me
I love you even if you think that I don't
Sometimes I find you doubt my love for you, but I don't mind
Why should I mind, why should I mind

Chorus
What is love anyway, does anybody love anybody anyway
What is love anyway, does anybody love anybody anyway

Can anybody love anyone so much that they will never fear
Never worry never be sad
The answer is they cannot love this much nobody can
This is why I don't mind you doubting

And maybe love is letting people be just what they want to be
The door always must be left unlocked
To love when circumstance may lead someone away from you
And not to spend the time just doubting

By the time I got to work, I was in a much better mood.

Thank you, Radio Gods.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< engagements | No means no, even when you're little >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona