engagements
May 02, 2005 - 4:07 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Our friends Jack and Caitlin got engaged this weekend. Kirk called us in the middle of Ella's birthday party last night (happy birthday, sweet girl! yay for two!) to share the good news. Hard to believe, but true--Jack is getting married.

Jack was the first of the Husband's friends to make an effort toward being MY friend as well. In truth, he is my favorite, probably largely because of that. He's careful, always, to be sure I'm on the inside, instead of the outer edges where I tend to drift, unnoticed and antisocial.

Last summer, Jack and Caitlin broke up for a while. It was right after Joe and Julie's wedding, when Caitlin and I sat next to each other, and I told her why I love Jack, and she thanked me, saying how nice it was to hear a GOOD thing about her boyfriend for a change. About a month later, they were together again, and I was reservedly hopeful.

Breakups are funny (said the serial breakup girl--I've broken up and gotten back together and broken up and gotten back together and broken up and gotten back together 30 times over with the same boy, several different relationships worth. HSBF Scott and I made it a habit. The Artboy and I elevated it to an art form. The Husband and I managed to only go there once).

My mom always used to tell me, "Jennifer, if you break up once, there's a reason for it. Probably a good reason. Usually a reason good enough that you should stay that way." Some times, I think she's right. But that doesn't mean I would change any of my history. It's all part of who I am now--even the part where I caught the Artboy in bed with Amanda and still went back for more. In the end, apart was better for us than together, but that doesn't mean that the second (or third or fifth or eighth) together was the wrong thing to do.

The odds seemed against Jack and Cait when they reunited. Several of his friends seemed to be waiting for the other shoe to drop, so to speak. Me, I remained hopeful. Two people I really like who seem to really like each other. It's a wedding I look forward to attending.



Thanks to iwinzulus, my resident online medical expert, I am unquestionably feeling better than I was on Saturday. Well, thanks to her and to the 8000 Advil I've taken since then, and the CVS back heat wraps I wore all weekend, and the pregnancy pillow, which came out of retirement to keep me well-supported while slept after my early and painful rising on Saturday morning. I can safely say that I'm past the "I must have bone cancer, this hurts so badly" stage. This is good.

Will is awake. I am off.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (2 people have spoken already)

< Pain | A Blessing from the Radio Gods >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona