Pain
April 30, 2005 - 5:37 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I've done something bad to my back. It's 5 am on a Saturday and I'm awake, because the pain won't let me sleep any more. Advil and Thermacare Heat Wraps, here I come.

It started Tuesday. I mostly ignored it. Apparently, not a good decision. All day at work, Barbara was full of stories of women with breast cancer who had no symptoms beyond the pain in their chest. My nonsensical brain wonders if I have back cancer. Is there such a thing as back cancer? Damn you, Barbara!

People who work in the medical field do that a lot--become certain they have whatever disease they learn of that week. Being only on the periphery of the medical field, I only occasionally suffer from the malady of the week. I actually had it worse in that ugly depressed period in my life when I had no job and had flunked out of school and had a hard time convincing myself to get out of bed and watched too much daytime TV. Oprah Syndrome. Whatever the bad health talk show topic of the week was, I became certain I was suffering from all its symptoms. Thankfully, my bad health subsided, coinciding amazingly with my getting a job and finding some purpose in my life beyond sorting the mail and making desserts.

I wish this was an imagined malady, but the twinges of pain I'm experiencing seem all too real. Is it too early to take a shower?

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (2 people have spoken already)

< Finding Damian | engagements >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona