Dinner guests?
August 11, 2004 - 9:51 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

The Husband and I were ships passing in the night yesterday. That's not unusual for a Tuesday--I leave for work about when he gets up, and he got home from the studio after I' d fallen asleep. But that means not much conversation happened. Especially since he was busy all day and never called me. This is not a complaint--it's just background.

So this morning, he's getting ready to leave for work (God, I love that sentence), and he says to Will, "I didn't get to see you at all yesterday, buddy, but I'll be home tonight since we're having company!"

Me: "Ummm....Company?"

Him: "Yeah--Kyle, Lily and Jasmine are coming for dinner. I told you that."

Me: "No, no you didn't."

Him: "I didn't?"

Me: "No."

Him: "Oh. Sorry. I love you!"

Me: "Yeah, I love you, too."

Him: "That didn't sound very convincing..."

Any suggestions on what to make for unexpected dinner company on what's going to apparently be hot and muggy and gross and not at all the kind of day that calls for turning on the stove?

Will is napping, so I'm off to the showers. Then I think we're going to Ward's for salad fixings. Bread and salad and perhaps some of Mrs. Ward's famous baked goods for dessert. Throw some chicken on the grill to add to the salad. Perhaps the Husband will live through the night after all.

I love the farm stand. The farm stand always makes me feel food-creative. Every time I go there, I think, "I should come here more often. I should shop for all my vegetables here. We'd eat so much better if I used local produce all the time. What is THAT vegetable? Is it worth trying? Do I know how to cook that? What pretty flowers! I want a smoothie! HOW much is it going to cost me?"

Nothing like $40 worth of vegetables to bring you back to reality, huh?

But it'll make for a really good dinner. Without too much effort on my part.

At least, that's the goal...

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< I am not now, nor will I ever be, a good stage mom | Farm Trip, part 2 >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona