Sometimes, Monday is a good thing
2002-01-07 - 5:06 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Ugh. All of the tension I�ve built up because of my work situation has centralized itself in my shoulders and neck. Ouch, ouch, OUCH! I can only tilt my head about two inches in any direction right now. This is not good.

On the positive side, though, I did finally sit down with both Steve and Donna and discuss the ugliness that has been my review process. And outside of the initial unpleasantness during which I told them that I was hurt and angry, and pointed out that they�d both unacceptably treated me with disrespect, it was a good conversation. With some discussion, we found some ways to make things better for all of us. I�ve now got a standing date with him every morning at 9, and with her three days a week from 12-12:30, where we can touch base on what�s going on. As I said before, my next review is now three months away. I guarantee that it will be on time and contain nothing that I find surprising.

Also on the up side, I sent my merit increase over to HR this afternoon, which means my check next week (not this Thursday, sadly) will reflect my new rate, a full dollar an hour more than what it is now. Then, the week after that, my market increase that should have been effective at the end of May will go in. THEN, the next week, I�ll get the retroactive dollars from all three increases (merit due 4/2/00, merit due 4/1/01 and market increase effective 5/27/01). That will be one kick-ass check.

And my world becomes a little better.

Of course, my neck still hurts. And Steve and Donna still have to make good on the promises they made to me today. But I have faith that these things will resolve themselves. I have to. Otherwise, I would be looking for a new job, and I�m just not ready to do that yet. Too many other things in line to change in my life, and I don�t think that everything should be new at the same time.

Anyway�

We celebrated Little Christmas yesterday�the Feast of Epiphany. And feast we did! Honey and pepper-crusted pork tenderloin with apple, cranberry and walnut stuffing, garlic and rosemary mashed potatoes, maple butternut squash and sugar snap peas for dinner, and molten chocolate cakes with fresh whipped cream for dessert. I spent a good part of the afternoon in the kitchen, but it was worth it. I actually found it very therapeutic�didn�t think about my work situation once! Mom and David came down to the Condo for dinner. It was the first time they�d seen it, and the Boyfriend outdid himself getting it ready. He cleaned every square inch, threw away boxes of crap, hung up all the pictures and doodads that had been in piles since he moved in. Actually, a lot of the things he�s got up are things we either chose together or bought for each other, so it�s starting to feel a lot more like home to me. More of �me� is there.

The kitchen, though, is definitely not mine. Cooking there is hard. The man doesn�t own a rubber spatula or a cookie sheet. In fact, he owns not one metal baking pan of any kind! He has vanilla and garlic powder in his spice cabinet, and both of them were left there by me! I had to make two different grocery store trips to finish the meal! Regardless, though, we had an excellent night.

It was a good weekend overall, actually. Mom and I went to a bridal fair on Saturday at the Copley Marriott. We haven�t spent a whole lot of solo time lately, so it was a good chance to sit and talk. We both needed that. Again, I marveled at how thin the models are. Scarily, unhealthily thin.

Tonight, I�m off to see Vanilla Sky with Jim. Hoping I don�t doze off in the middle!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Respect is in pretty short supply around here right now | Vanilla Sky and other assorted thoughts >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona