Dear John--er--that's Reverend John...
March 14, 2005 - 3:45 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I hate writing breakup letters. They downright suck. Especiallythis one. Who knew I'd have to break up with a church?!

*****

March 14, 2005

The Rev. Mr. Howard M.
UCC in Jenistar's Town
Jenistar's Town, MA 00000

Dear Pastor M.,

I have been putting off writing this letter for some time, but as the Sundays go by and I find myself at home, the need to tell you why has grown. Last year, the Husband and I came to meet with you about baptizing our son, Will. I enjoyed our conversation very much, and looked forward to sharing his special day with your congregation. I wanted Will's baptism to be a foundation for him in a church where he would grow up. My experience has always shown the UCC to be welcoming, warm, accepting, and active, and I was eccited abuot sharing that kind of a church home with Will.

In one of our conversations, you told me that the church was struggling to regrow its membership. We discussed the difficulties involved in doing that, and I didn't anticipate it to be a problem for us. In fact, it seemed like a good time to join. When better than when you're really wanted? As a result, we joined the church with the confirmation class.

At the end of the last school year, I put my name on a volunteer list for lay readers, and on one for coffee hour volunteers. I never got a call at all about coffee hour. I was asked about a meeting time for lay readers, but was then told that the meeting would be postponed as I was the only person who could attend, and was never called again.

One Sunday morning in the fall, Will was napping and I seized the moment to go to church alone. I enjoyed the service, but when I went to the coffee hour afterward, I stood alone in the parish hall. No one spoke to me. At the Christmas fair, I approached you at the cheese table. Our conversation was one between strangers.

As much as a church fills a spiritual need for its members, it should fill a community need as well. If one is lacking, the other can't make up for it. Unfortunately, we found no fit into this church's community. We are once again looking for a new church. I wish you and the congregation the best of luck.

Very truly yours,
Jenistar

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (3 people have spoken already)

< You don't choose your family | Will's idea of walking it off >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona