Burrito Man and Snowmobiles
2002-01-25 - 3:33 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Ah, Friday afternoon. What beautiful words.

I walked across the street to get some lunch a little while ago and stopped to talk to Burrito Man. Burrito Man works at the (no surprise) burrito place in the little mall across from the hospital. No mincing words, he�s adorable. Just the kind of boy I would have fallen for, back in the days where I was still in the world of falling for boys. Now, I�m happy to exchange a few words with him while he takes my order (burrito with rice, cheese, black beans, guacamole and low-fat sour cream and a can of Arizona iced tea�he knows it by heart by now).

Today, he was lamenting that he had to work all weekend. Usually, he doesn�t complain, but the forecast is calling for temperatures in the 50�s all weekend, and it does suck to have to work on a 50-degree day in January in Boston. So I promised him I wouldn�t enjoy the weather, either, out of solidarity. I don�t think I meant it, but it made Burrito Man feel better. It was worth it for the smile.

Is it bad that I appreciate his smile? Not for nothing, but it�s a great smile. I don�t think that makes me disloyal, does it?

Anyway�

The Boyfriend is headed to Maine, even as we speak. He and his friends are snowmobiling this weekend. I had planned to go with them and take the day to myself, like I did last year, but given the events of last week, alone in a house in the middle of nowhere, seven hours from home and without a phone or any way to contact the outside world, didn�t sound like a great way for me to spend my Saturday afternoon just yet. So I opted out. Not that it makes a huge difference in his weekend, other than the drive up there. Last year, they all went to bed about an hour after we arrived, got up at 6 am and left before I was out of bed, snowmobiled all day, came home and ate the dinner I�d cooked then fell asleep before 8 pm. I think they�re all just disappointed because now they have to make their own dinner. I offered to make a double batch of chili and send it along, but they declined, so they fend for themselves. Hey, I tried�

Instead, I will spend the weekend with my mom. She and I are going to Pickity Place for lunch with her friend Gail tomorrow, then to see David�s parents on Sunday to celebrate David�s mom�s birthday. Much better than all that isolation, I think.

Now, if I�d said to the Burrito Man, �Hey�my fianc� is gone for the weekend�let�s get together,� THAT would be disloyal!

Just pointing out that I understand the difference.

I�m off to go through files and talk to Donna about changing my schedule. Starting the second week in February, I�m going to go to four 10-hour days, taking Fridays to be with my mom. At least, that appears to be the plan right now.

(I�ll mention here, although I�m trying not to concentrate on it too much, that this weekend marks one year since my grandmother�s death. I don�t know what else to say about that, so I�ll just move on.)

Happy weekend, all.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< "If there's anything I can do for you..." | Artboy dreams and wedding stress >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona