Irrational boys
2001-12-18 - 4:06 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

On both of the past two Tuesdays, I�ve had plans with Damon that I haven�t followed through on because I was feeling crappy. Last week, I bailed on Tuesday and then didn�t even talk to him for the rest of the week, as I was sick and overwhelmed and worried about my mom.

I emailed him this morning, and we set a shaky truce, as he was a little peeved that I had just sort-of disappeared on him for a week. He asked me if I was interested in joining him for some dinner after work tonight, and I said yes. That was at about 3:00.

At 3:25, I answered my phone to find the Boyfriend on the other end. �What are you doing tonight?� he asked.

�Umm�I�m meeting Damon for dinner.�

�Oh.�

�Why?�

�Wouldn�t you rather come meet Joe, Julie, Jack and me at the Cactus Club?�

�Well, it doesn�t matter, because I can�t. I already have plans. Plans that I made about 25 minutes ago, but still.�

�Call him and cancel.�

�I can�t. I�ve cancelled our last two sets of plans, and he�s already feeling all insecure about our friendship. That would be wrong.�

�Tell him�Tell him that these are plans we made days ago, but that you forgot until I reminded you.�

�I can�t do that. Besides, that would be a lie.�

�I didn�t tell you about these plans days ago? Are you sure?�

�Yes, I�m sure. You just found out about them. And you wouldn�t give me this hard a time if I were meeting�say�Ilana for dinner.�

�No, then I�d just invite you both to join us. �

�But not Damon?�

�No, not Damon.�

�You need to get over this, chiquito. Stop pouting. Hey, by the way, I need to go home with you either tomorrow or Thursday to get my car, my wallet and Donna�s Christmas present, which is in your closet.�

�You can�t. If you need to go home with me, you have to do it tonight. I have plans the other two nights.�

�Yeah? With whom?�

�Umm�other girls. Who aren�t you. Yeah. That�s it.�

�Okay, then, I�ll get Chris to drive me down. I have a key.�

�I changed the locks. You have to cancel your dinner plans and come with me.�

�I�m not going to do that, pouty boy, so get over it.�

�Humph!�Well, if your plans change, like if Damon takes ill or something, you know where to find us.�

Thus endeth my phone conversation with the Boyfriend.


So my mom is sick. Like, the-treatment-hasn�t-made-her-feel-any-better-but-instead-wiped-her-out-and-lowered-her-resistance-so-she-caught-a-horrible-cold sick. She called her doctor this morning and asked if this is normal, if she should be pushing herself to do more, to get better faster. When I last talked to her, she was waiting for him to call her back.

This is so not fair.


Carl came through and gave both my bosses envelopes on the sly today. They both expressed huge thanks. I can�t help but think these were Christmas bonuses.

I also can�t help but wonder if we�ll get one again this year, or if last year was a one-shot deal. �Cause that $250.00 would be really nice right now. Not that it wasn�t nice last year, but giving it then and not giving it now�it sends a message to the staff. �We appreciated you before, but now�now, you�re just okay.� Or maybe I�m overreacting.

Whatever. �Tis the season.


Oh, and by the way, welcome to the new members of my notify list. You can be one of the cool kids, too, and stick your email in that box to the side. Then I'll send you notification that there's a spanking new entry up, too.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Yucky! | Money talks, but it can't sing and dance, and it can't walk >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona