High school was a long time ago
2001-11-20 - 5:16 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Yeah�so�It�s Thanksgiving week.

Celebrated once already, Sunday, with various and sundry members of my chosen family. Not all of them, sadly�as always happens, especially this time of year, there were a few people who couldn�t manage to join us, and whom I missed palpably, but still, we ended up making dinner for 17, which was no small accomplishment. Especially since I apparently chose the world�s slowest cooking turkey. After eight and a half hours in the oven, it finally tested to the right temperature, even though the pop-up timer never quite popped. No worries, though�it tasted wonderful, and looked like a magazine photo. All that basting paid off. It was a really good day. Nana would have been proud. Everything was even ready at the same time.

Anyway�

The rest of the weekend was hectic but good, although I think it should be a rule that everyone go to their own high school reunions by themselves, unless your partner went to school with you, or you actually dated him or her in high school. I knew exactly four people in the room on Saturday night, including the Boyfriend. He used me as an excuse to not have to chat with anyone else. It was just plain weird.

When my ten-year reunion rolled around, I was just past the part-Boyfriend-part-Artboy stage and into the Jennifer-and-the-Artboy-try-again stage, and chose to go to the reunion itself alone. The Artboy was hugely hurt and didn�t understand why I wouldn�t bring him along. I didn�t want to have to worry about him or take care of him. It turned out to be a good decision. Jill brought her husband, and he sat at the table and watched her mingle all night. I don�t think either of them had a good time. The next day, I did bring the Artboy along to brunch with my friends, and we had a very good time, but it was much more low-key, with a lot fewer people, all of whom I�d been friends with for years. The reunion itself was high-stress. I didn�t need to add to that.

Somehow, though, it was so important to the Boyfriend that I accompany him. Whatever. It didn�t kill me. And it made me realize, once again, how much I don�t miss high school!

Anyway�

I�m having a strange dilemma right now.

The Boyfriend takes a snowmobile trip every year. Last year, I went along and hibernated while they all snowmobiled through the day, supplying dinner for everyone when they returned. He�s already talked to his friends about going again this year, and acknowledged both to them and to me that with the wedding coming up, this would be the only trip he makes next year. We have both a lot of expenses and a need to save our vacation time, so it�s not really an option.

This morning, his sister emailed us both, asking if January 23-27 were okay dates for us to go on this ski trip she�s planning to Vermont. We�d have to take two days off of work and pay for a condo she�s found. Apparently, she had mentioned it to the Boyfriend and he�d told her to go ahead and look into it.

I don�t want to be the total bad guy here, but since there are no snowmobiles involved in this weekend, it doesn�t seem like the snowmobile trip, which makes me think it�s exactly what we said we weren�t going to do!

When I asked who was planning to go, he said, �Mom, Amy, you and me�no one else.�

WHAT THE HELL?!?!?!?!?!?

Please, someone, tell me that my future in-laws aren�t this all-encompassing and controlling, please.

They just decided we were taking this trip, and he doesn�t have the balls to say no to them, even though he knows we�d already discussed exactly this kind of thing and decided against it!

So I become the bad guy who steps forward and says no, we can�t go.

And in the process, get really annoyed with the Boyfriend for talking out of both sides of his mouth.

Problem is, I�m already on shaky ground with Betsy, as the Boyfriend pretty much told her I think she has boundary issues.

Great�

Oh well�If they decide they hate me, maybe they�ll stop wanting me to go places with them?

Mom always told me I should marry an orphan. Not such a bad idea.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Getting Angry and Giving Thanks | Feeling kinda thankful >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona