Fires and Vacations and Various Other Matters
February 21, 2003 - 12:12 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

, it�s been ages since I set foot in here. I hate that. Hate that I�ve let my life get so crazed that there isn�t time for the little white box. That�s going to have to change. Y�all are my grounding force. I need this�

Anyway, for starters, here is the story of how I got in trouble yesterday for things that happened years and years and years ago, and also a note as to why I don�t mind.

I walked into work yesterday morning after sitting in the car for a few extra minutes, listening to the DJ�s on WHJY discuss the previous night�s fire during the Great White show at the Station in West Warwick. For those of you who somehow missed the story, at this point the count is up to 96 dead and over 160 injured, with many people, including the band�s guitarist and one of HJY�s DJ�s, still unaccounted for. The whole story made me sick to my stomach. Though I�ve never been to the Station, I�ve been in it�s identical twins all across Massachusetts, more nights than I can count, watching more bands than I can name. That�s what happens when you have a boyfriend in a band. And any of those nights, had something similar to this fire happened, I could have been one of those numbers. The place went up in three minutes flat, and half the crowd thought the fire and the darkness were part of the show. Scary. By the time I went through the door to the building, I was close to tears.

My mom�s desk is just inside the back door. She was standing by it when I came in. �I�m mad at you,� were the first words to come out of her mouth.

�Umm�why? What did I do?� I�d left her at 10:00 the night before, and she hadn�t been mad at me then, and I�d called her when I got home, like I was supposed to, just to let her know I hadn�t driven off the road into a ditch somewhere.

�For all those nights you were out in clubs and I had no idea you were there, and you could have been killed and I would never have known it until it was too late!� She came over and hugged me. �I just keep thinking about all those moms who don�t know where their kids are today, and it frightened me!�

How can I argue with that? I did, however, balk at signing a statement for notarization that I�d never go to another club again. She�s just going to have to deal.

Anyway�

Martha�s Vineyard is pretty dead in the middle of February. But beautiful in the snow. We spent four days pretty much just driving and walking around the island, eating when we were hungry and could find an open place, talking, sleeping late and, yes, Carla, staying in bed. We�d been told the only things we were supposed to do down there were eat, sleep and have sex, and that�s pretty close to true! The inn was beautiful. We stayed in Room 12, which has been repainted since the photo on the website was taken, but which was comfortable and cozy and perfect. Breakfast was included, and made us both feel very spoiled. No breakfast bar and waffle service here at the Condo! I�m so glad we went, though. Came home feeling, once again, like getting married was a good idea, which hasn�t been consistently true since the wedding.

Betsy took care of the piggies while we were gone, and our stop to pick them up on the way home turned into a two and a half-hour visit. Managed, once again, to not poke her with my spoon or pour hot tea in her face or anything. So things are slowly improving. Slowly. They�ll get there.

And now, I�m off to drag the Husband�s sorry ass out of bed and clean the pigsty of a house we share. I�m not sure what happened in here. I think someone had a party while we were gone. We certainly can�t be responsible for all this mess!

Good weekend, all�

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< For you, and you (should) know who you are... | A message to Phil, and more fire ranting >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona