Artboy turned Rock Star
2002-11-04 - 4:01 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Friday afternoon, I picked up a copy of the newest Boston Phoenix to read on my ride home. Even though I don�t go out much these days, I like to keep track of what I�m missing. Makes me feel a little less lame.

The bus ride was just the right length for the front section, since I actually read the cover story word for word, it�s being about why I should vote for Shannon O�Brien, and I was hoping for a reason to vote for her, instead of just against Mitt Romney. I already had plenty of those.

I pulled the rest of the paper out of my bag as I approached the red line waiting area, settling down to read 8 Days a Week and Beyond while I waited for the T. I glanced through the information on the front page and then opened to the next sheet. My breath caught as I folded it back.

The Artboy�s picture is in the paper.

For those of you playing along with your own Phoenix at home, it�s his band at the top of page 3 in the 8 Days a Week section. He�s the tall guy with the sideburns all the way to the right, the one with the girl clinging to his belt.

Now, I�ve seen his picture in places like that before. This isn�t a first, exactly. But this was different, somehow. The photo in question is from their video shoot, and somehow, between the band�s early days (when they played in zombie makeup) and now, he�s obtained the look of a rock star.

Maybe even a Rock Star.

And they�re still playing smaller shows, but now they�re headlining those shows. Their songs are getting some airplay on the bigger radio stations� local segments. They have a CD.

The day I turn on my TV and see him on the screen is getting closer. And it sure does feel strange.

In the movie Say Anything, after Lloyd and Diane sleep together for the first time, he�s talking to Mimi and she�s saying, �You had SEX! That changes everything!� and then she goes on to say something about how they could be 80 and be walking down the street and see each other and just say hello but they�d be thinking, �I had SEX with that person.�

Or something like that.

But it�s true. And the person on the other end of that thought is on his way to being a Rock Star.

So very strange�


Anyway, while I�m on the ex-boyfriend roll, I�d like to use this space to congratulate HSBF Scott, who got engaged this weekend. Wishing you both all the happiness in the world, Scott!


That�s as much cheer as I can muster up. Perhaps after my head stops hurting�I shouldn�t eat Chinese food for lunch. I know that. But knowing doesn�t stop me from wanting it, and when you add in the PMS thing, I end up with way more sweet and sour chicken with white rice than one person could ever need and a killer of an afternoon headache.

Perhaps someday I�ll learn�

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Piggy Philosophy | Heating pads, disappearing entries, mix CD's and meaningless drivel >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona