That Novocain needle is HUGE!
2001-06-15 - 3:08 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

The whole lower left side of my jaw feels like someone punched me. With a set of brass knuckles. Repeatedly.

I hate going to the dentist. I believe I mentioned this yesterday. Nothing has happened since then to make me change my mind. The tooth I�d broken a piece of filling off of wasn�t the same tooth he�d planned on drilling out and refilling. It was the tooth next to that one. As a result, I now have two new fillings in my head.

Thankfully, my dentist was much more compassionate and nicer this time around. I felt no need to threaten his masculinity. He gave me enough Novocain to numb a horse. None of this made the ordeal any less unpleasant. At one point, he actually had to stop drilling and ask me to turn my head back toward him. I had been unconsciously turning slowly in the other direction.

He was as gentle and pleasant as he could be, though, given the fact that he was excavating the inside of my tooth. I was less than thrilled, though, by his assistant. I know I was the last patient of the day, and I know that as soon as you�re done with me, you get to go home, honey, but sitting your butt in the chair, staring at the clock, sighing and complaining loudly to the hygienist in the hall�not a good idea. It didn�t inspire huge confidence in me that she was doing the right things.

My teeth seem to be fine now. Other than the whole sore jaw thing.

Our normal 10:30 Friday meeting got moved to 8:00 today, so I�ve been at my desk since 7:15. My alarm went off at 5:30. I had dragged my numb self into bed at about 11 last night, after sitting at my desk and finishing the minutes for the 8:00 meeting at home. The Boyfriend thought since he hadn�t seen me all week, it would be a good time to express how much he�d missed me. I couldn�t even kiss him. I still had no feeling in my lower lip.

Of course, once he fell asleep, the numbness started to wear off and my whole mouth was tingling like an arm with pins and needles. Not exactly sleep-inducing. I saw the clock hit 12 before I fell asleep.

That five and a half hours just wasn�t enough sleep.

Some day, I�ll stop being cranky.

I don�t know when that will be, but some day.

The Boyfriend and I are heading to Peabody tomorrow to see the barn. I�m a little nervous about the prospect. One part of me is anxious at the thought of liking it enough to leave a deposit. That makes the wedding real and gives it a date. Another is afraid we�ll get there and love it and then discover that the only dates left for all of next summer are Sundays. Then there�s a third part of me that is dreading the thought of going because it might NOT be everything we think it will be. We might NOT love it, and it might NOT fit our needs. Then what?

Man, I am good at finding things to worry about.

I bought another magazine today. And a book, too�Emily Post�s Wedding Etiquette. I am truly out of control.

Heh. If we don�t end up setting a date tomorrow, I have nothing to plan around. Maybe that�s my biggest fear�that I will have gotten myself all worked up like this for nothing.

Man, that would suck.

My whole office is empty today. Literally ONE desk in my area other than mine has a person at it. Weird. It�s not helping my concentration.

Perhaps I should just go home and take a nap.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< grumpy dentist day | One thing to check off the list >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona