Resigning: The Aftermath
December 05, 2002 - 5:49 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I was just standing at my friend Ann�s desk, talking about spying nude men on the balcony at the hotel across the street from our offices when her phone rang, her daughter�s boyfriend on the other end. He was calling to ask Ann�s permission to ask Ashley to marry him. I think people in Cambridge heard her squeal. It was a very happy noise.

I am so going to miss Ann.

So it�s official. I�ve informed both my bosses and made my announcement, sent out my email, told the same story over and over and over. December 27 is my last day. I am so relieved.

Several people have told me that even with having just made the decision and the announcement, I look better. I think it�s just relief.

So what comes next�

I haven�t told most of the people here that I�m not entirely sure. See, if you tell people that you�re leaving, and then you tell them that you don�t exactly have a new job yet, they assume you were fired. Or asked to leave. Or that it wasn�t your decision, exactly.

None of which would be true.

And it�s not that I�ve lied, exactly. I do have a new job. I�m 98% positive of that.

But, you see, I can�t tell the people here that I don�t exactly have a new job yet, but that it didn�t matter, because staying here was killing me and killing my not-even-four-month-old marriage. Because it would require giving too much background about Donna and my situation and the bad review and the thousand little things that have happened since then that made me uncomfortable about coming in here, and these people are all still her coworkers and subordinates here, and that would just be wrong.

So instead I leave out the ALMOST in the story of my new job and go from there.

Personally, I�m not sure a couple weeks with no job would be such a bad thing.

Especially not coming off the holiday season.

Especially not as we approach the first anniversary of No David.

Especially not as the Husband and I try to remember why we decided we wanted to get married in the first place.

These things are all MUCH more important in the scheme of things than leaving here on the 27th and starting somewhere else right off the bat.

Don�t�cha think?

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< So tomorrow becomes the big day... | Dinner at Buca and other Ohioan Delights >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona