Not the Best Day Ever
October 01, 2004 - 6:55 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Sooooo tired. And so up early. The Husband changed his work schedule this week. In hopes of missing a big chunk-o-traffic, he's trying a 7-4 schedule. Which means his alarm goes off at 5:30. Combine that with the fact that Will has slept through the night once in two and a half weeks (between the pinworms and the stuffy nose and the new tooth coming in, I don't blame him, but it still sucks), and you get one really, really tired me.

Yesterday was not a particularly good day, mood-wise. Will wasn't his usual perky self (I think he's getting his first real cold) and spent most of the day being very, very clingy. We went to Target to have his picture taken in his Halloween costume. She took 12 shots. Two of them had smiles. The rest captured a very worried looking child. She offered to take more. I decided to quit while we were ahead. While we were choosing a picture to purchase, he melted down. She said, "I guess we stopped just in time. You really know your son!" That was the bright spot in my afternoon.

I chose the best picture from the group and used both my $8.99 picture package coupon and my $4 off coupon, so for $5.24 (with tax), we got two 8x10's, a 5x7, four 3 1/2x5's, 12 wallets and 3 "billfolds" (= ridiculously small photos). Not a bad deal.

From there, we came home to try and get dinner together. Mom had invited Jay over to talk about her house and eat with us. Wednesday night, she came in with a turkey she had purchased for us to eat. "Am I cooking that?" I asked her. "ummm...Yes?" was the reply I got.

We put the turkey in the oven on timer before we left for Target and hoped for the best. I'd never used the timer before. Thankfully, it works, and we arrived home to the smell of cooking turkey. That small success aside, dinner was a pain in the ass, and the more I tried to do , the angrier I got at her for leaving me this stuff. Nothing like preparing an entire turkey dinner by yourself with a small, cranky child crying at your feet because he just wants to be held.

I was in a less-than-stellar mood by dinner. So was Will. He threw his food instead of eating it. I finally just handed him and his spoon over to his father. "You deal with him. I'm no longer capable."

I hated that feeling. I don't want to be the cranky mommy. One of the reasons I wanted to stay home with him is that I DON'T want him to get the dregs of my energy. he deserves more than that. But yesterday, I just didn't have it to give, and we all suffered for it.

Today will be a better day. Today will be a better day. Today will be a better day.

And I've got plenty of leftovers, if anyone would like a turkey sandwich...

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< Baby fat and baby motion | just a little bit of an entry >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona