The Slush Puppy brings us to the Artboy
2001-09-25 - 2:41 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I am tired today. Shouldn�t have sat up last night, writing about Jeff.

It�s funny. The actual step-by-step slush-puppy-to-present-day process is very short. I just can�t write it that way. Thinking about the band and about that night at Daisy�s brought a lot of stuff back into my head, and then I needed to get it back out somewhere. So it becomes a three-part diary entry instead of the �got the slush puppy, which meant Phil joined the band, which brought Stan into my life, then Stan introduced me to Brett, and Brett introduced me to Dicky, and Dicky lived with the Artboy, and being friends with all of their roommates brought Heather into my life, whose brother is best friends with the Boyfriend.� It�s not so complicated that way. But each of those steps carries with it such huge pieces of my life. I can�t just leave them that way.

Truthfully, when I first met the Artboy, I hardly noticed him. When Brett brought him back up on the phone the next day, I had to stretch to remember what he looked like. The only reason I could bring him back into my mind was because he and Dicky both owned trucks, and had discussed switching them for the night, because there was more room in the Artboy�s.

Two weeks later, Brett and I went to the WFNX Best Music Poll party on Lansdowne Street. Browsing through the vendor tables, we ran into the Artboy. He said five words to me. As we walked away, I said to Brett, �I can see why he wants to hang out with me again. He has so much to say to me!�

The next weekend, she and I went to a party at Dicky and the Artboy�s house. It was a �Get Weird� party. The four boys who lived in the house all wore dresses. I have only select memories of that night, helped along by the several Ciderjacks I drank. I remember meeting Adam, another of the Artboy�s roommates, and instantly liking him. I remember laying on Adam�s waterbed with Dicky, Brett and the Artboy, being ridiculously conscious of his arm touching my arm, his knee touching my knee. I remember seeing that Adam had changed out of his dress, and asking why. He explained that it was almost time for Jaegermeister, and there could be no dresses involved in Jaegermeister time.

I remember asking �What�s Jaegermeister?�

I remember standing against the wall in the kitchen, protesting that I�d never done a shot in my life, as Adam pushed a shot glass full of ice-cold Jaeger toward me and the rest of the partygoers chanted �Drink! Drink! Drink!�

I remember watching the Artboy trace my outline on the craft paper they�d lined the walls with, writing �Jen doing her first shot, and looking sexy in the process� around the edge.

I remember Adam telling me that the house rule stated whoever started the Jaeger bottle had to finish it as he handed me another shot.

I remember standing in the hall with the Artboy, thinking about how tall he was. I remember kissing him several times, leaning against the wall in the middle of the bathroom line, glad for the support. Between the kiss and the alcohol, I wasn�t feeling very stable.

I remember him pulling me into Brendan�s room to sit on the futon while he wrote his number down. The walls had a Paddington Bear border on them. He found a scrap of newspaper and a colored pencil, saying, �If I give you our number, will you call me? I�d like to see you again. You aren�t going to call me, are you? Please call me.�

I remember kissing him for a while longer, until Brett came in and said our taxi was there. I remember settling into the car�s seat as she said, �Did you just hook up with (the Artboy)?!�

I remember waking up the next day with a terrible hangover and a phone number in my pocket. I was afraid to call him. I wasn�t even sure I liked him yet.

Truthfully, ironically, the biggest thing the Artboy had going for him in the beginning was the fact that he wanted me.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Twist part Two | Random thoughts for a Wednesday afternoon >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona