Twist part Two
2001-09-24 - 10:25 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I had to repair my hard drive again tonight. This can't be normal. I still blame AOL.

Anyway...

So, yeah, We left the convenience store. Phil talked the whole way home about how he and Matt used to be really good friends, and how they'd lost touch when Matt moved away, and how this was such great timing, since he really wanted new people to play with, and Matt was really good, and this would be great, and he was so glad I hadn't settled for something other than a slush puppy, because then we'd never have run into Matt, and this was so cool!

Fast forward a couple months. The Zu Gods are in full force. Phil and Matt are playing with Eric (E.C.--stood for "Emperor of Cheese") and Perry, roommates who live in a scary part of Boston. I am their auxilary, their only fan, the constant presence in the corner of their practice space. They'd jokingly refer to me as the Band Slut, except that I wasn't sleeping with all of them. Minor technicality, I guess,

The Zu Gods, however, are lacking a lead singer. An ad goes out, the phone calls come in, I am present at the auditions. Enter Stan. Stan is the consummate Rock Boy. I am ridiculously struck by him when I first meet him. I sit in the corner all night and just watch him move as he sings his way through "King Contrary Man" and "Coming Down the Mountain." I am in lust.

It doesn't last long, though. Stan's a hopeless pothead, and not real given to intelligent conversation. Despite the fact that I stop wanting to undress him, though, I continue to really like Stan. Eventually, he invites me to visit his house. It's there that I meet his brother, Jeff.

Jeff is a baby-faced, brown haired lacrosse player. What I wanted from Stan is nothing compared to what I want from Jeff. I get stupid when he's around. I can't make sentences. He says hardly anything to me, convinced, I'm sure, that I'm an idiot.

Nothing happens.

The band breaks up. My life goes on.

Then...

Phil and Stan decide to start another band, with a new name, Charlie in the Box. This time around, they're looking for a bass player. My office mate, Michael, is a bass player looking for a band. I introduce them.

Stan is still living with his brother. They plan a superbowl party. Stan invites me. I go, despite my huge football dislike, spurred out the door by the memory of Jeff's smile.

At the party, I manage to actually speak. I also strike up a conversation with a girl at the party, Stan's coworker, Brett.

I never make female friends randomly. I really like this girl, though. I hope to see her again, more maybe even than I hope to see him. I'm living at home, my friends have all dispersed--why not?

Michael continues to practice with the band. Eventually, he's an unofficial member. He agrees to meet Stan at lunch to get a tape of songs to practice. I go with. Stan brings Brett. We exchange phone numbers and decide to go out that next weekend.

At the next Charlie practice, the rest of the band invites Michael officially to be their bass player. We all make plans to go out that night to celebrate. Stan invites Jeff.

I drive Phil in to the boys' house later. We park there, meet up with the rest of the band and some other friends and family of the theirs, and all take a cab to Daisy Buchanon's on Newbury Street. I hate Daisy's. I spend the whole night talking to Jeff.

We leave the bar and go to Stan and Jeff's other brother's apartment. It's late, after 3 a.m., and Phil is DRUNK. So drunk he can't tell me how to get home. Discussion happens. I stand in the back hall with Jeff, talking about going home anyway. He tells me he wants me to stay. I ask him how much. He kisses me. It's the kind of kiss you feel in your toes.

We finally decide that Phil, Jeff and I will take a taxi back to Jeff and Stan's, where Phil and I will spend the night. Jeff will supposedly drive his car back to the brother's so they all have a way to get home in the morning.

We arrive at the house and set Phil up on the couch. He's awfully drunk. I feel somewhat guilty about this. Not guilty enough, though, apparently.

Jeff sets me up in Stan's room. Stan's bed is a queen-sized loft, with leopard-print sheets on the bed.

He asks me if I'm sure I don't want to come upstairs. I make a show of saying no. He kisses me again. I halfheartedly insist on staying downstairs.

Jeff leaves the room. then reappears moments later. When he climbs into Stan's bed, I don't tell him to leave.

It's after four a.m.

I don't sleep at all.

I'm busy doing other things.

It no longer matters that I'm unable to talk around Jeff on a regular basis. There aren't a lot of words exchanged.

It doesn't occur to me to feel bad that we're in Stan's bed until much later the next day.

Stan, however, is a little mad.

Jeff and I begin this twisted, secret non-relationship. Truly, it's just sex. Not because I'm not totally infatuated with him. Because he and I can't talk about it around Phil.

He travels a lot for work. My phone will ring late at night, Jeff on the other end. "Don't tell me it's late, please. I know it's late. Come to Allston anyway. I'll make you breakfast in the morning."

I go to Allston. The late hour doesn't matter. Nor do the dirty looks I am getting from my mother at my late hours.

It's just sex.

In the meantime, I've also started spending time with Brett. Her roommate starts referring to me as "Couch Jennifer" because I'm the Jennifer he keeps finding on his couch on Sunday mornings.

Brett doesn't like Jeff. She sees me getting way too attached to someone I'm just having sex with.

She starts introducing me to her other friends. I go out with one of the, a guy named Doug who works in advertising. He's okay. I don't have sex with him. This is a good decision.

My "relationship" with Jeff is playing itself out. Turns out I'm not really interested in just sex, no matter how good it is.

Finally, she invites me to go see Bob Mould at Avalon with her. She's meeting her friend Dickie there, along with some of his other friends. I agree, since all of my weekends involve hanging with Brett.

Dickie introduces me to his other friends, Steve and Erica (my future old roommates), Jim, Ref. And in the back, coming down to say hello at the end, Jen and the Artboy.

The Artboy and I exchange a couple words. I barely remember meeting him.

The next day, I am planning to go out with Doug. The phone rings early-- Brett, calling to say that she'd had a good time, and how much Dickie liked me. And his friend, the Artboy, who had asked if we could "hang out" again soon.

(Okay, it's late--I guess there's another part to this story...Not really a surprise, since it involves the Artboy, I suppose...)

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< December decisions, part 1 | The Slush Puppy brings us to the Artboy >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona