December decisions, part 1
2001-09-24 - 4:54 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I have a zillion things to do today, and a weekend to finish recording, but because the Bean asked so nicely, I�ll retrace my life back to a slush puppy for you.

I was nannying at the time. The family I lived with, baby included, had gone to the wife�s family�s house for three weeks around the holidays, leaving me in MA to take care of the dog and the house. The day they left, we�d had a huge snowstorm, leaving me out in the middle of the country, all by myself.

Phil braved the snow-swept streets to keep me company. He brought movies and popcorn, and we settled into the TV room for about two days. All that snow made us crazy after a while. Being crazy made us hungry. We made a pilgrimage to the grocery store and bought stupid things, including a 10-pack of Crayola markers and two huge pieces of posterboard. We went back to the house and drew pictures of each other, with little comments around the sides. On the picture he drew of me, I put a �word bubble� coming out of my mouth so the picture me could say, �I want a slush puppy!�

By now, it was well past Midnight. And it was December�not prime slush puppy season in Massachusetts. But we were young and without real jobs or any good reason to get up the next morning, so we set back off in the nanny family�s Suburban to find me a slush puppy. Cherry, preferably, but blue raspberry would have done just as well.

We tried the convenience stores in the general Dover area. No luck. Those that were still open looked at us like we were crazy. �No, not here. Not until May or so.� We heard that a lot.

We branched out down Route 1A, traveling further out. No luck in Dedham. None in Norwood. Not in Sharon or Stoughton, either. Finally, on the far side of Walpole, we found an open Christy�s, the familiar smiling dog revolving on a silver canister in the back.

While I filled my plastic-coated cup, Phil wandered the aisles, finding treats to bring home and eat through the next movie on our list. He brushed shoulders with another customer, then looked up to apologize. Surprised, they both laughed.

�Matt?!�

�Phil! How are you, man? It�s been a long time!�

�Dude, it�s good to see you! �

As they stood and caught up, I approached, taking in Phil�s friend. He was short and skinny, with long blonde straggly hair and tight pants. When Phil introduced us and explained that he and Matt used to play music together, I wasn�t the least bit surprised.

Matt was excited to see Phil, as he was starting a new band and needed a drummer, if Phil was interested in coming to jam with them some night soon? Turned out Phil was definitely interested. Numbers were exchanged, dates were set, goodbyes were said. We went back to the giant, empty Nanny house, both happier than when we left.

(I�ll continue this after my BARCC meeting tonight�)

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< My weekend needed another day | Twist part Two >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona