My weekend needed another day
2001-09-24 - 3:16 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

About halfway home from Florida, I developed a twitch in my right eye. It has yet to go away. My cousin said the same thing happened to her once. Her doctor prescribed three good night sleeps. �Cause those are so easy to come by. Can�t they just give me some drugs?!

At least today I�m tired from GOOD things. We had a fairly busy weekend. Friday night, the Boyfriend and I met Steve and Erica (my old roommates) for dinner. The Boyfriend had chosen this restaurant around the corner from the condo, Nino�s. It�s a huge stone building, apparently made from stones that were pulled from the site. He kept telling me it would make a good house. I didn�t think I�d want all those strangers eating in my living room�

Food was good, though, and not too pricey. And, as always, it was good to see Steve and Erica. It�s so strange�I used to see them every day, and now I�m lucky if we get together once a month. Times change, and relationships with them, I suppose, but I miss them. After dinner, we went back to the condo and just hung out until after Midnight. It was all good.

Woke up around 3 a.m. because the rain was forming a puddle in the deep condo windowsills. Okay, it wasn�t the puddle that actually woke us up. It was the thunder and lightning. But the puddle made the Boyfriend get out of bed and run around closing windows and mopping up rainwater. This was truly kind of amusing to watch, but meant that I was awake for a long time. When the phone woke us for the second time, we�d slept past mid-morning, something I don�t do very often. I got up and showered, pissed at myself for sleeping late. My plan had been to get up early and head home, hoping to make a dent in the huge list of things I had to do. Instead, I made grilled cheese sandwiches, ran the Boyfriend�s dishwasher and took a nap.

We didn�t leave the house at all until after 3:00, and when we did, it was with a plan to stop at his dad�s and wash the Jeep, then head to Crate and Barrel to register for wedding stuff. We managed to get through one of those things. I sat and ate Popsicles with his dad while he scrubbed the wheels. By the time he finished with the second wash, it was almost 6:00. His dad suggested we stay for dinner. Dinner stretched until 9. We got to my apartment just before 10. Surprisingly, we managed to stay awake through all of The Family Man, which was an interesting movie. Wouldn�t it be cool if we could all glimpse what our lives would be like had we made different decisions. Or maybe not. Maybe it would just be destructive. I�ve given it way too much thought in my life, though, the concept of parallel universes and such.

Sometimes, though, it�s not the big decisions that change your life. I can trace my whole present reality back to one December night when I wanted a Slush Puppy badly enough that my friend Phil and I drove to 10 different convenience stores to find one. If I�d settled for something else instead, my whole life would be different now, but I had no idea of that then. I just wanted a Slush Puppy.

Anyway�

Sunday was wonderful.

Sunday, I went to Carla�s to spend the day with her and the bridesmaids. Carla invited us all over for a bridal �kick-off� event. This was the first time all of these women had been together in the same place, the first time many of them had met each other. We wanted them to have a chance to get to know everyone a little before the craziness of the wedding sets in.

I couldn�t have asked for a nicer day. No big catastrophes, no instant dislikes, no unpleasant words. I don�t kid myself into thinking we�ll all be best friends�not even close. But Carla managed to put together a delicious meal and a relaxed atmosphere that gave us all free reign to have a good time.

She put my cousin Susie in charge of the cake. Susie blew up the photos we took at the bridal salon and made a �Barbie� cake that was wearing my wedding gown. The skirt even sparkled. It was incredible.

Ugh�yet another crisis in our office. I don�t want to deal with any more crises today.

I�ll have to go on and on about Sunday later�.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Is it time to go home yet? | December decisions, part 1 >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona