Is it time to go home yet?
2001-09-21 - 4:27 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

The source of my afternoon headache (from the email I sent out to our MR manager) and the result of three hours of my running around like a lunatic:

�Hi Carolyn,

�We had/have a big problem with MR payroll for this week that you and I are going to need to resolve first thing Monday morning.

�As noted in the email sent out by Nicole in the payroll office this past Wednesday, paychecks will be distributed next week on Wednesday instead of Thursday because of the Yom Kippur holiday. As a result, payroll deadline for this week was 3 p.m. today.

�I did double-check the distribution list on this email to be sure it had been sent to you as well. The emails go to all Peoplesoft users.

�As your voicemail did not state you were out of the office, and since I did not know you were at a conference, I had tried to reach you both by phone and pager earlier today. Finally, I found out you were out of the office and got in touch with Josh. By the time he and I actually spoke, it was after 2. I told him I would put in the payroll if he could get it over to me. I received the first of the fax sheets at 2:56. I was able to enter a couple of people before Peoplesoft closed, but the majority of MR hours were not entered into the system. Also, as I am unfamiliar with both your techs' schedules and the way you keep your timesheets, I am not confident that the hours I entered are correct for the employees.

�In order to get these employees paid in the regular cycle next week, we must submit paper hours adjustment forms on each employee by 10:00 a.m. Monday. I will be at my desk by 8:30 on Monday, but cannot do this without you. I need you to plan to go through the timesheets with me at that point.

�Alternately, the techs will not get paid, and no one wants that to happen.

�Thanks,

Jennifer�

I hate it when Payroll gets screwed up. It means days and days and days of problems for me. The last time we had a problem like this, where a whole department didn�t get entered (not my fault then, either), it took over a month to get everyone squared away.

This lovely dilemma came on the heels of our normal Friday administrative meeting, where it was announced that the hospital has hired the Hunter Group to come in and �analyze� our problems and �make suggestions� on how we can improve. This translates into �slash our business practices and put hundreds of people out of work.� Already, the hospital has announced that we should expect a layoff of 8-10% of our work force. In our department, that means 25-30 people, if they do across-the-board cuts.

Gotta love Fridays that are full of such good news.

I swear, I�m just going to go back to Disney. Life there was much more pleasant.

Edited to add: Boy, I sound whiny, don't I? I think last week just has me way too on edge for my own good!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< In a strange dazey place today | My weekend needed another day >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona