Anniversaries aren't always meant to be celebrated
2001-07-10 - 9:13 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Last night, I got home from BARCC, made myself some dinner and turned on the TV. Flipping through channels, I came across the very beginning of St. Elmo�s Fire and decided to watch while I ate.

I have no self-control. I watched the whole thing. Dragged myself to bed after it was over, laughing. I remember watching it in high school with Carla and identifying with Mare Winningham�s character (Wendy) and her attachment to Rob Lowe�s character (Billy). We knew the lines by heart and would recite them along with the actors. Amazing how much of it I still remember. �My thighs are fat. The only way to get rid of that fat is amputation.� �What you need to amputate is Billy the Kid� �I know. I know, but I can�t.�

So�my first public ed meeting�It was good. There were about twelve of us there, plus Jordan and Jeanette, the public ed coordinator. Jeanette started at her job just before we started training, so this is a new position to her, and she�s making a lot of good changes to the group. Not that they seem like changes to me, since I just got there, but I�m gathering that this section of BARCC was less than organized before. Seems like we�re coming in at a good time.

Before I left last night, Jeanette handed me an envelope containing a card from her and Jordan. It brought into focus something I�d sort-of been avoiding thinking about as this week approached.

Two years ago this week, Melissa was murdered. In lots of ways, it seems like longer ago than that. In others, it could have been yesterday.

The card was very sweet, just letting me know that the BARCC staff was thinking of all of us this week, and offering me a listening ear if I need one.

I told Jeanette that I believe everything happens for a reason, and while I don�t think that what happened to Melissa had anything to do with me, I do think that in some ways, she was part of my life so that I would be led into what I�m doing now. I�m very glad to be here. And looking forward to my first venture.

So, yeah, anyway, it�s been two years since Melissa died. This week last year, my grandmother was diagnosed with Non-Hodgkin�s Lymphoma.

Part of me feels like taking cover until next Monday.

Take care of yourselves, would you? I don�t want to add this year to that list.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Yummy! | No idea what I'm writing about >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona