Counting of Days
2001-01-16 - 11:08:42

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Today is my five-year anniversary at the hospital. Not at this job (that will be three years in April), but within the organization. Since I started here, I�ve held four different positions, for 21 months, four months, three months and 32 months respectively. I�ve had ten different desks in seven different areas. I�ve reported directly to seven different people. I�ve only been officially reviewed twice.

Five years.

That�s a long time, even considering that it�s been split between four different jobs.

I think back to the person I was when I first started working here, and I don�t recognize her entirely.

The morning that I came in for my interview was the day after I�d thrown my shoes at the Artboy. I�d been up all night, hysterical. Melissa pulled me together and sent me out the door so I wouldn�t blow my chances at the job. Months later, I told Chris, my then-boss, about the personal circumstances surrounding my interview that day. She had no idea. "You seemed so well put-together," she said, laughing. I am a better actress than I knew, apparently.

Since I started working here, I have ended one major relationship and started another. I�ve gotten pregnant and ended a pregnancy. I�ve been in three weddings and attended six others. I�ve buried two friends and a grandparent. I�ve learned that my mom has MS. I�ve kissed seven different boys and one girl. I�ve only had a lease on one place to live, though I�ve actually resided in two. I�ve owned two cars. I�ve bought a "big girl" bed. I�ve opened a retirement account. I�ve grown up.

I guess, when I think about all the things that have happened, it�s not so long after all.

In my life, I�ve had at least 20 jobs. The one I have now is the one I�ve held longest. The shortest was a job as a pharmacy tech at CVS. I lasted two weeks.

I wonder how long I�ll last.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< No fear of flying | Much ado about lunchtime, and Jenistar bribes her readers >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona