Willyougooutwithme was one word, wasn't it?
2001-03-07 - 20:49:42

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Sorry I've been gone, D-land. I played hooky from pretty much everything yesterday, except Chris, who also stayed home from work and followed me around all day. I should have gone to work.

I'm supposed to be packing for our Toronto trip right now, but I wanted to at least stop in and say hi.

First full week in March. Sunday was my half birthday. I'm halfway to 31. So far, I have to say, the beginning of my fourth decade here on earth has been pretty good.

Sunday was also the 14th anniversary of the day Scott the HSBF "asked me out." Remember how much easier it was back then, when the words "will you go out with me?" put you into the middle of a relationship? It was good, back then. None of that "so is he my boyfriend now, or are we just dating, or are we just friends that kiss, or what?" When the Artboy and I first got together, I was in a bar with my friend Brett while he went to his brother's graduation. Andrew, the lovely bartender, fixed me special drinks and let me choose the songs for the jukebox all night. Later, as last call approached, he said, "So tell me Jennifer, do you have a boyfriend?" I said..."Umm...maybe. Sorta." He said, "Sorta like you might 'cause you just started dating and you don't know where it's going yet, or sorta like you had one, and now you're not sure you do any more." When I confirmed that it was the first option, he said, "Too bad. That means you have a boyfriend. If it doesn't work out, come back and see me." Too bad indeed. Those were good free drinks.

Anyway, back in high school, it was easier. Not easier to do (and Scott, I haven't forgotten that Carla threatened bodily harm to your cat if you didn't just suck it up and ask me out)--the anxiety surrounding that question was huge! But once you got past the question, you knew where you were. In "adulthood," you don't get that again until you get the big "M" Word question. And believe me, I know how easily a no answer to that can define your relationship.

So I'm feeling a little nostalgic for those easy days. And I'm thinking nice thoughts about Scott. Hard to believe that was almost half my life ago.

Have a good few days, Diaryland. I'll talk to you on Sunday.

Oh, and you--you at uu.net--now you've read every single entry. Say hello, wouldja?! Thanks.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Snow? What snow? | Back in the saddle again >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona