Monday morning, you sure looked fine
2001-04-09 - 2:02 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Ah, yes, it�s Monday. But it�s not a terrible Monday so far, as Mondays go. The weather is gorgeous, truly spring for real, even if it lasts just for today. Payroll went off without a hitch. Mr. M. is in a good mood because it�s his birthday and I brought him a huge container of malted milk balls (his favorite�I�m such a good little secretary), and his goodwill is spreading throughout the rest of the department. I�ve had two separate occasions today to talk about authors I like to two different people. I have to say it�s a pretty good day. Really.

I sat down to put in an entry last night, but my head hurt so badly I couldn�t bear to stare at my computer screen for too long, so I just nosed through my favorite diaries and then went to bed. So now I have a weekend�s worth of stuff roaming around in my head.

Thursday night, the Boyfriend and I went to Cronin�s to meet his friends. My friends now too, I suppose. It was actually a fairly nice night. No one tried to take pictures of their genitals. We did, however, end up in conversation about threesomes of the two women-one man variety, which was perhaps a little too personal for my liking, but I managed to get through it without sharing anything I didn�t want these boys to know. I also managed to collect another 125 pledge dollars for Saturday�s walk, which was very cool. We cut out of there around 10:30, went back to the condo and crashed.

Friday morning, I woke the Boyfriend up with the first of his birthday presents. We narrowly made it out of the house before the inspectors showed up with the buyer at 9:00. �Narrowly� because at 8:40, I was standing naked in the hallway, waiting for him to finish in the bathroom. Note that this was before I realized the blinds were open and there were workmen behind the building. Oh well�so it goes.

Lunch was wonderful, as it always is up there. Vegetable ranch dip and crackers, then garlic and sage soup, followed by saffron rice salad and ginger orange bread with a maple honey butter. Then we had a choice of either a three-cheese quiche or a baked stuffed filet of sole, both with schezuan noodles. Dessert was chocolate bread pudding drizzled with butterscotch sauce, topped with fresh whipped cream. Oh. My. God. It was absolutely delicious. And all for 14 bucks a person. I wish this place wasn�t a two-hour drive from home.

We poked through a few little antique stores on the way home, stopped at his house for about an hour then headed to his mom�s for dinner. The Woman with the Highest Voice in the World managed to actually plan a nice evening for the Boyfriend that was actually almost completely about the Boyfriend. I was amazed and relieved. My mom and stepdad joined us, too, which was good for me.

Somewhere in the middle of dessert, a mouse ran through the living room. TWwtHVitW freaked out! The Boyfriend and his friends Joe and Kirk chased it through the house for about 20 minutes before they managed to catch it and put it outside. It was hysterical. My mom and I tried hard to keep our laughter to a minimum. I thought Betsy was going to cry.

Regardless of the Mouse Situation, we still had a very pleasant evening. The Boyfriend�s parents and sister gave him a DVD player (but no DVD�s, which I thought was poor follow-through on their part). He was excited, regardless.

Saturday was Walk Day. We lucked out, weather-wise, as the rain held off, the sun came out, and it was the perfect temperature to walk 10k. Our little four-person team raised almost 4200 dollars in pledges! Thank you to everyone who helped us with that�you�ll be getting my more personal thank you soon, but I wanted you to know how great we did! We celebrated our success with ice cream at Crescent Ridge. All in all, it was a highly successful day!

Sunday, Betsy took us out house hunting again. The Boyfriend found one he may make an offer on! We walked in and found the two brokers, older Italian men, sitting on the couch in the living room, watching the Sox on the big-screen TV. They talked like characters out of Goodfellas. Had I only heard about them afterwards instead of seeing them myself, I would have thought the Boyfriend was making them up.

After the house hunting, I called Heather from Betsy�s office and cancelled our Chris plans for the evening. I�ve been thinking about it a lot since we met on Tuesday night, and have felt less and less like this conversation we were planning is a good idea. And I think doing the wrong thing would be worse than doing nothing at all. Not that I think we should do nothing. I just think we need to find a different alternative. Heather was angry�it seems like she was looking at this as an opportunity to tell Chris off (one of the BIG reasons I feel this is a bad idea), but when I finally talked to Erica, she agreed that it wasn�t right. She was relieved I made the call. And I don�t feel like I did the wrong thing.

Instead, the Boyfriend and I took Chris to dinner. It seemed like a much better idea. Then I went to bed at 8:30. Ten hours of sleep left me feeling much better about life today. I even feel more hopeful about Chris. Well, at least, a little less hopeless. If there�s a difference.

Tonight we go grocery shopping. Ought to be interesting.

I had more to say, and a new project to talk about, but I guess it will have to wait. My weekly volumes call.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Bluesphere, Bathtubs and Birthdays | Random thoughts and a volunteer opportunity >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona