PMS must stand for "Pass Me Silently"
2001-05-08 - 4:43 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Been one of those days�

I didn�t have �real� nylons to wear to work this morning, and I freeze if I come in bare-legged, so I put my thigh highs on. Usually, they�re very comfortable and they stay up really well. They should, considering how much Victoria�s Secret charges for them! I was fine until I got up to have lunch with my friend Scott. We walked down to the lobby of the building and were halfway to the bank machine when I realized the left one was losing its grip and drifting down my leg.

Luckily, I have a long skirt on, or it would have been a very odd picture, me with one stocking drifting down to mid-calf. I managed to wrestle it back up at least somewhat surreptitiously when the right one gave up, too.

All through lunch, I fought with them, trying to keep my legs covered. I came back into the office, closed myself in the bathroom and tried to reposition them into a better spot.

I thought I�d managed okay. Half an hour ago, I had to walk to a different building. Halfway there, both stockings were mid-calf again. I finally gave up. They�re in the trash in one of the cafeteria bathrooms now.

Damn Victoria�s Secret.

Also today at lunch, I discovered that I really don�t like Cape Cod Firecracker Barbecue Potato Chips at all. Yucky.

Scott and I spent almost all of our lunch talking about Chris. He�s battled his own depression demons in the years since I met him, and we�ve traded hate-my-life stories on lots of different occasions. Unfortunately for him, he identified with a lot of Chris�s behavior, but that meant he gave me some good advice.

There�s a really unpleasant conversation in my near future. I hate the thought of having it. But I hate the thought of spending the next 14 months walking on eggshells even more.

And I know if I say nothing, if things stay the same and he continues to make me uncomfortable for being happy and excited, we�ll end up not being friends any more anyway. It�s worth the try.

But that doesn�t mean I�m looking any more forward to it!

Anyway�

The Newport Wedding Saga continues. A friend of my family is getting married in August in Newport, RI. Right�in Newport�one of the busiest and most expensive summer destinations in North America. The wedding festivities start with dinner on Friday. The wedding will be Saturday morning, immediately followed by a luncheon garden reception. As the bride�s mother�s family is very southern Baptist religious (her parents met at Bob Jones University), the lunch will be a music and alcohol-free affair. Saturday night, they�ve planned a party that will presumably be livelier. They�ve also planned brunch on Sunday.

I like Heidi (the bride). I�ve known her through almost her whole life. I graduated from high school with her brother and stepbrother. Our mothers were business partners when we were small. She�s fun to be around.

But�

I�m not really friends with her brother or stepbrother. I like her brother�s wife (Carol�the Maid of Honor), but I don�t know her very well. My mom and David are coming to the Friday dinner and the wedding, but are skipping out after the ceremony to go to another wedding.

We�ve been trying to find a place to stay that won�t cost a zillion dollars a night. Mom and David are only staying Friday. Most places insist on a two-night reservation. The Boyfriend supposedly knew of some places to stay, but has thus far proven himself far less knowledgeable than he first seemed. Truthfully, all he�s done so far is annoy me, but that could be the PMS.

(It could also be the fact that he�s blowing off Buffy Night tonight to have dinner with Koach. Whatever. He told me he couldn�t come because he had to pack. Twenty minutes later, he let it slip that he�s meeting Koach when he gets out of work. How annoying. I can understand not wanting to join us, but why not just tell me the truth. Heh. See if I help him pack when it�s suddenly an emergency situation and he�s got two days, and one of them is the Buffy finale. He�s on his own.)

(Amazing, isn�t it, how quickly all those nice thoughts I was thinking about him yesterday have been driven to the background by his acting stupid!)

So�what was I talking about? Oh�right�the wedding�

So now I�m seriously considering just driving down the morning of the ceremony, going to the lunch and then coming home. I can�t manage to generate any enthusiasm at all for the rest of the weekend.

What would you do if you were me?

Perhaps I�ll feel differently once I�m no longer PMS�ing.

We�ll revisit this next week.

Right now, I have to go finish some cheese popcorn. Then I�ll probably go throw up. Excuse me.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Walking on Sunshine | What If is a weird place to go >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona