The commute from hell and stamping supplies
November 14, 2002 - 5:31 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

So this was the kicker, commute-wise.

I left home at 6:20. A few minutes later than usual, but not too far off.

I drove to the subway station, got my ticket, parked, got out and started walking toward the T when I realized my pass wasn't in it's little pocket. I thought, "That's weird. Maybe I put it in my wallet." Looked in my bag. No wallet, either. Not that the pass wasn�t there, but the wallet wasn�t there.

I went back to the car, drove to the gate, begged the guy to let me out since I'd been inside for three minutes and didn't have the $2.50 to pay to get out (see: missing wallet), drove home and found the wallet on the floor, with the T pass inside, next to the bed. It had fallen out of my bag. Of course, by this point, it was too late to get back to Braintree and still get a parking space.

"No problem,� the Husband said, "I'm leaving in about 15 minutes to take the commuter rail. It stops at JFK. Come with me."

I did.

The train, which was supposed to come at 8:02, showed up after 9 and crawled at a snail's pace out of the station. I decided to get off at Braintree and take my chances with the red line from there.

I got to JFK, where I pick up the shuttle to the hospital, just as the last shuttle of the morning was pulling out. Thankfully, I saw it from the car before I got off, and just stayed on the red line to Park Street, where I switched to the green line. I took that to Longwood and walked the two blocks from the station to the hospital.

By the time I arrived at my desk, almost four hours had passed since I�d left the house in the first place.

I was not a happy camper.

When I got home after my wallet was missing, I thought about staying there. I should have listened to my gut.

Instead, I came to work, where the computers have crashed almost continually all day and work has disappeared or been rendered unreachable.

I really should have stayed home.

(Okay, so, gloom and doom Jennifer, do you have anything good to say today?)

Hmmm�

Stamp club meeting tonight. That�s good. I stopped at the Michael�s I pass on my way home last night and bought new cardstock, star-shaped snaps (which are really more like eyelets, for those of you in the crafting know), funky little eyelet bars that say �merry christmas� and �happy holidays,� Velcro and a bulk pack of patterned paper. I�m SO ready to play with it all! Perhaps, if you�re nice, I�ll send you a Christmas card. But only if you ask nicely.

That�s a good thing, isn�t it?

I bought the Velcro because I�ve been working on making little envelopes for my burned CD�s. I finally last night made a prototype that I�m happy with, and it�s sealed with a little Velcro dot. Hey, tossing the Picture in the Paper Mix in my bag on its own seemed like a really bad idea. And the couple that people requested needed a transport option. Now that I�ve figured out a way to make it work, I can send those out, so they�ll be on their way soon.

And now it�s 5:30, and I get to pack up and go home soon. Well, not home, exactly, but off to play with my new toys. And that�s DEFINITELY a good thing!

Pleasant evenings, all.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Two years is a long time | Japanese Publishing? >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona