IC #10
2002-05-22 - 10:17 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Jenistar�A Life!

The Box Set

Disc 1: The Early Years

It�s a Small World/The Disneyland Children�s Chorus [early childhood education 1]
Excerpts from Bedtime Stories and Songs with Rosemary Rice [early childhood education 2]
Heartache Tonight/The Eagles [life lessons from Mom
Children Go Where I Send Thee/Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver [Jennifer learns about God]
I Can't Fight This Feeling/REO Speedwagon [Jennifer's First Kiss]
Can�tcha Say/Boston [Jennifer Falls in Love for the First Time]
Pour Some Sugar on Me/Def Leppard [Jennifer and Scott's Big Fight, Round One]

Disc 2: Growing Up and Getting Out

Blister in the Sun/Violent Femmes [Colorado Waterfight]
Wild Thing/Tone Loc [Jennifer takes on Gordon]
Luka/Suzanne Vega [Layout at the Northeastern News]
Joey/4 Non Blondes [Hanging with Joel]
Going to California/Led Zeppelin [Jennifer Packs and Unpacks]
Separate Lives/Phil Collins and Marilyn Martin [Jennifer and Scott Call it Quits]
Sir Psycho Sexy/Red Hot Chili Peppers [Summer 1992; Going to California for Real/The Arrival of Travis]
I�m Too Sexy/Right Said Fred [The Bumblebee Hits the Road]

Disc 3: Heartbreak and Beyond

I Used to Feel/Machinery Hall [Introduction of the Artboy]
If I Can�t Change Your Mind (acoustic version)/Sugar [Jennifer and the Artboy Duke it Out, Round One]
Never Going Back/Morphine [Riding the Bus Past the Artboy's House]
Son of a Preacher Man/Dusty Springfield [A moment of Unadulterated Non-Terseness]
Name/Goo Goo Dolls [Jennifer Decides Not to Leave]
You Oughta Know/Alanis Morissette [Jen B Moves to California and the Artboy Doesn't Say Goodbye]
Where Did You Go/Mighty Mighty Bosstones
Everything Right is Wrong Again/They Might Be Giants [Jennifer Meets Jamie the Take Your Pants Off Man]

Disc 4: Girl�s in Love

Set Me Up/Bim Skala Bim [Jennifer decides the Boyfriend is Worth a Second Look]
Save the Last Dance for Me/The Drifters [Breaking Up at Marina Bay]
Love Don't Come Easy/The Alarm [Making Up and Making Out in the Boyfriend's New Apartment]
Living Inside My Heart/Bob Seger [Jennifer Realizes She Wants to Marry the Boyfriend]
Back In the Saddle Again/Gene Autrey [Mom and David Get Married]
Perhaps Love/Placido Domingo and John Denver [Saying Goodbye to David]
For You/John Denver [Jennifer and the Husband's First Dance]

***

Rosemary Rice, reading to John and Mary. "I've got a good idea. Why don't you two turn over in bed while our friend at home turns the record over?" "Then we'll all be turned over together!"

"It's a world of laughter, a world of tears. It's a world of hopes and a world of fears. There's so much that we share that it's time we're aware it's a small world after all."

Montage scene. Legos. Goldfish in small bowls. Nancy Drew mysteries. Fairy houses in the backyard. Mud pies and Fisher Price dolls. Richard Scarry. First day of school. Velour jogging suits. T shirts with letters ironed on. Jean jackets with puffy sleeves. Junior high. Sticker albums. Jacks tournaments in gym class. Kenny Levine, my first crush. Smurfs.

***

My mom, Diana and I are standing in the living room. Mom has the stereo turned up loud, a tambourine in her hand. The Eagles ring out into the room. "Somebody's gonna hurt someone before the night is through." As the turntable spins, bringing us Don Henley's voice, Mom tells us solemnly, "Stay away from the Cheatin' side of town, girls."

***

And I Can't Fight This Feeling any more. I've forgotten what I started fighting for...I'm standing on the side lawn of my church, 15 years old and shivering. The March air is cold, and I am nervous. Greg is next to me, leaning against the empty Christmas tree stand. I'm supposed to be returning books to the library across the street. Instead I'm thinking about kissing Greg. Greg is thinking about kissing me, too. I take a step. He takes a step. Our lips meet. I'm too nervous to notice if I even enjoy it.

***

And I'm here to remind you of the mess you left when you went away...The Artboy and I have gone to bed. Everyone else is in the kitchen, toasting Jen and wishing her well in her move. She storms up the stairs and bangs on his door. I sit up in bed, pulling the brown spread around my naked shoulders. "Dammit Tim, open the goddamned door!" she yells. The Artboy remains motionless, feigning sleep. Jen slams her way up the stairs to Scotty K's room, just over the Artboy's bed. She stomps on the floor repeatedly until the whole house shakes. He continues to lay still. I silently pray she won't crash through the door.

***

Perhaps love is like a resting place, a shelter from the storm. It exists to give you comfort, it's there to keep you warm. And if you feel you've lost your way and don't know what to do the memory of love will see you through...Hundreds of people gather in the church. Easily a hundred more are turned away at the door, unable to fit in the room or on the stairs. The funeral director leads me to the front pew and motions the rest of the family in behind me. I pray for the strength to get through the next hour without breaking down.

***

Love don't come easy. Sometimes love don't come at all. It ain't over 'til it's over...It's been a year since I told the Boyfriend I was still in love with the Artboy. Halloween 1998, to be exact. It's now November 1, 1999. We met after work for dinner at Tapeo. I've spent the whole night trying not to reach across the table and attack him on the spot. After dinner, he drives me briefly back to his apartment before bringing me home. Taking me on the tour, he pauses in the kitchen, fumbling for the light. In the dark, I reach for his hand. We embrace against the counter. When he finally kisses me, nothing else matters. I forget to breathe.

***

Damn it! I had more to type. The power just flickered. I don't want to take the chance of losing the whole entry. So my IC stands as is at the moment...

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Buffy finale! | So I guess I don't totally suck after all. >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona