So I guess I don't totally suck after all.
2002-05-24 - 5:41 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

So today, less than two months after the due date, Donna and I went through my review. The part that cracks me up most is that she had me do a self-review, and then just added her comments to it, such as they were.


PART 1: VALUES AND CODE OF EXCELLENCE. Provide comments and examples describing how values and codes of excellence were demonstrated.

Integrity: Live the mission and core values

Jennifer has demonstrated a lot of integrity in addressing and improving performance issues identified last review. She handled the constructive criticism with directness, honesty and energy. I respect her approach.

Respect: Treat patients and each other with dignity, kindness and significance.

My patient interaction has increased greatly with the addition of the admin calls to my line. I strive to treat each caller with courtesy and respect. Jennifer has been very consistent, calm and effective with her increased patient phone calls.

Compassion: Communicate with sensitivity.

Jennifer is a good listener. She has improved greatly in her communication around delays and progress.

Excellence: Take accountability for excellence, both as an individual and as a team.

I realize that without an official administrative support manager, the admin staff is frequently left out of communications re: operations in the department. As the assistant to our operations director and business director, I am trying to take a more active role in admin staff communications. I have noticed Jennifer�s efforts and very much appreciate her for taking ownership of these needs. Jennifer takes pride in her work.

Stewardship: Take responsibility for the stewardship of resources.

In taking over responsibility for the administration supply ordering, I am working to increase the percentage of items purchased from the �best value� list. I have also taken responsibility for the recycle bins in the department. Agreed. Jennifer has also been helpful in keeping me informed of areas we could improve upon.

PART 2: KEY JOB DUTIES. List 5-8 key responsibilities related to job description.

1. Interacts with department managers and ensures appropriate communication and timely response to issues.

This is an area in my job that I continue to work on. I frequently have many projects going on at once, and people may perceive that their request is �lost.� I am working toward increasing communication with my coworkers to keep them updated on the status of projects, even if the only information I have is that there has not yet been any resolution. Agreed. Jennifer has made significant strides in improving in this area.

2. Supports Operations Director in timely reporting of the Pinnacle.

With the exception of Steve�s departure month, the Pinnacle has been complete by the 15th of the month.

3. Supports Operations and Business Director with arranging meetings and coordinating communications with the staff

This is not a job responsibility I�ve ever had on a major level until recently. I believe there has been a learning curve involved in managing someone else�s schedule, which I continue to work on. Jennifer�s efforts with this work have been invaluable as my schedule and workload have increased with the shortage of technologists. Jennifer has done an excellent job with this juggle and communicated very effectively with me.

4. Communicates and processes payroll, and responds to payroll issues

Payroll continues to be one of the primary responsibilities of my job. This year, I have worked to set up a time reporting policy within the admin support staff that holds the individual employees accountable for his or her own hours and improves the time reporting process. I have also taken over the CT payroll in the absence of a CT manager, which was a challenge, but which I now manage with a minimum of errors. I have cultivated a good relationship with the hospital�s new Payroll manager, which has proven helpful. Agreed. Much appreciated.

5. Reports weekly volumes and weekly RTAT by radiologists

I have been working to improve both the RTAT content and its distribution method, streamlining the process slightly and making the document more informative. It continues to be reported on a weekly basis, as do the department CCC volumes. Agreed.

6. Minutes various department meetings.

This part of my job has decreased over the past year as the projects in the department have changed. I have made accommodations in my schedule to cover meetings scheduled during times I would ordinarily not be in the office.

7. Assists directors with data collection for measurement purposes

This portion of my job has increased over the past several months. I have taken over responsibility for the weekly and monthly budget volume reports in addition to the in-department reports I have always run. Although much of this is a very new responsibility, I feel confident that I will process the reports in an accurate and timely manner. Jennifer learns very quickly and has met all requests in this area. She has also often added value to the project with her knowledge.

8. Answers and triages calls to main Radiology administration number

Over the past several months, my volume of calls has more than doubled with the addition of my extension to the administrative branch of the main Radiology number. These calls vary greatly in purpose, including patients trying to reach scheduling or the file room, confirming their appointments, or looking for directions to the medical center. I also get calls from outside physician offices looking to reach our radiologists, get a wet read on a patient, or offer complaints or commendations regarding the department. These calls can number up to 30 per day. I make an effort to answer each caller personally, or to forward the call to a more appropriate location. Agreed.

Employee Comments: This has been a year full of change for me, both personally and within the department. My role in the administrative operations has shifted with the addition of Nancy�s position, the change in department structure with the Business Director and Operations Director positions and the departure of Steve /Arrival of Allen. While in many ways the job has become more challenging, I am enjoying it more, and looking forward to the next year.

Developmental Goals and Action Plan: State and discuss the expectations and goals to improve performance during the upcoming review period. Give examples of how these goals can be met (e.g. training, participation in project completion, etc.):

Continue to improve efficiency in scheduling meetings for the business and operations directors; Increase communication with other departmental staff re: project status; Create a running priority list of projects currently in process within my office area; Train a backup person on how to calculate the various benchmarking statistics I track .

Agreed. Jennifer has done a remarkable job in addressing her communication and customer service skills over the past few months. Her workload has increased and she has taken it on in a positive manner. Jennifer�s efforts are greatly appreciated.


Quite a turnaround from the �Jennifer sucks� I got before.

This is good, though.

I needed some positive energy.

I�ve been feeling a little low. Couldn�t quite explain why. Oh�wait. There�s the whole David�s birthday thing. And the drove to the cemetery to bring him flowers yesterday thing. There�s the not enough hours in the workday thing. There�s the too much to do and not enough days before the wedding thing. There�s the stuff at mom�s stuff at the apartment stuff at the Condo thing, where I don�t quite know where anything is and what I need is always somewhere else. There�s the menstrual cycle cramps and shattered attention span thing. And the general underlying, as-yet-untreated, got the name of the therapist and never called her, depressiony-sort of thing.

There�s all of those.

I suppose that might do it.

Ah, well�

My review is good, I didn�t get bagged for spending too much time on the web, the weather is gorgeous and I have three days off in which to get somewhat organized. And dinner with the Boyfriend to celebrate all of that, plus the four-year anniversary of our first date.

These are good things.

I will think about these things instead.

Happy Memorial Day, y�all.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< IC #10 | Final Words Diary Survivor 3 >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona