Martha
2002-07-09 - 5:52 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Off to see Wendy again tonight, so this will be a quick entry, but I didn�t want to break my streak. See, if I do two days in a row, I have a streak. Yeah. That�s it. That�s what I�m telling myself, anyway.

I have a bone to pick with Jonathan. About a month ago, he started this new diary site, home to a story about a fictitious little town named Camden Point. He�s put the story up soap opera style, with a little bit more each day. Right now, there are 19 episodes up, along with a character guide cheat sheet and a quick overview. It�s fun to read, and extremely engaging. Too fun to read, I think. Yesterday, he unveiled the identity of the murderer. I read that episode in the morning. All day today, I�ve obsessively checked the page to see if episode 20 is up there yet. Jonathan, honey, do me a favor, please�get a notify list, would you? Put me out of my misery. Oh, and hurry up with the goods! I want to know what happens next.

If you�re intrigued, go read it now, before he gets any deeper into the story. Yes, right now. Go. This can wait.

Did you go read it?

Huh?

I hope so.

Anyway�

I got my first piece of mail at the Condo yesterday, addressed to Miss Jen Boyfriend�slastname. Which is funny, since I�ll never be MISS Jen Boyfriend�slastname. He was all excited. I�ve been invited to his friend Liz�s bridal shower. She�s getting married in October, so by then I will be Mrs. Jen Boyfriend�slastname. It all makes sense, I suppose. But it was still very weird.

I appear to be past the adjustment period with the medication. Today I took it and didn�t feel any different at all. I think it makes me thirsty, though. There are worse things. It kills my appetite and makes me drink more water. The Zoloft Diet. Not sure I would recommend it.

Two very odd things happened here at work today:

1. There�s this project I�ve been working on for a while. Before the holiday, I totally dropped the ball on part of it. I just didn�t get it done. And then I was out for days. And I knew I hadn�t gotten it done, and I took no steps to deal with it. This was bad. But truthfully, I didn�t care. This is bad also.

Today, I managed to not only fix the part I didn�t do before, but I managed to fix it in such a way that I came off looking like I�d worked harder than if I�d just done it in the first place. I�m still not sure how that happened, but I�m not going to argue. As my friend Ann says, don�t poke a skunk.

2. I got a call earlier from a woman, Martha, whose sister, Brenda, had come in today for a CT scan. Brenda is a couple weeks post-surgery, and has been feeling pretty awful, so her doctor, who is on vacation, scheduled the non-emergent CT for her before he left. The CT showed an abscess at her surgery site, and she ended up in the office of the doc who is covering for her doc (Dr. W) all afternoon.

Martha ended up on my phone rather by chance and out of desperation. She was trying to locate Brenda, and no one had been able to help her. After about ten minutes of hunting, I tracked Brenda down and managed to connect the two women, but not before giving Martha my phone number and telling her to call me back if she needed anything else.

About an hour later, I got a frantic call on my voicemail from Martha. She said she�d been trying to get back to Brenda, and that she�d been transferred, hung up on and stuck into voicemail, and she didn�t know what to do, so could I call her back.

I did. When I told her who I was, she burst into tears. Over the next 10 minutes, I managed to once again find her sister and talk to Dr. W, who sounded awfully exasperated with Martha. I felt like saying to her, �Lady, lighten up�the woman is scared!�

Martha�s husband died three months ago of pancreatic cancer. She and Brenda nursed him through it. Now Martha, in her 70�s, and Brenda, in her 60�s, are alone together. And Brenda is sick, and Martha had no idea if she was coming home or being admitted, and all she needed was someone to be nice to her.

She said, �When I got your voicemail, I was sure I�d never hear from you again. And then you called me back��

Then she really broke my heart. �I still have your number here. Would it be alright if I called you again some time?�

May we never feel that alone in our lives.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Packing | Martha >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona