Welcome Nolan!
November 26, 2002 - 5:42 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I�m an Aunt!!!

Nolan was born at 9:15 p.m. yesterday, at 22 inches and 7pounds, 4 ounces. Mother is doing well, and says that Nolan, �other than his pointy conehead,� is perfect.

Something else to be thankful for!

I don�t want to post his photo up here, as I�m not sure how his parents would feel about that, but if you�re jonesing for baby photos, email me and I�ll share!

So very cute!

Everything else sort-of pales in comparison. Kristy had a baby. What could overshadow that?

As the Jennifer biological clock ticks away�Not that I�m ready just yet. But seeing him brings me a little closer.

Of course, the Husband and I aren�t quite at baby stage yet. We need to work out a few kinks in the whole �married� thing first.

Yesterday on the phone with him from work, I said something jokingly about how it isn�t always about my mom. �Sometimes,� I said, �It�s even about you or me.� He came back with, �Yeah, or even about you AND me together. Sometimes it gets to be about us.�

The whole way home, I thought about that. And about how we�ve spent very little time as �us� since the honeymoon ended. And about how lately, we�ve operated much less as a team and more as two people with separate lives who happen to sleep in the same bed. And I�d stopped taking the Vitamin Z because it was killing my sex drive, but even without the drugs, we don�t seem to be in the same groove in that department. It�s nothing or kisskissokayI�mreadytohavesexwithyouwhetheryou�rereadyornot, and that doesn�t thrill me on any level, to be honest. Like someone I read quoted recently from When Harry Met Sally, �Women need a reason to have sex. Men just need a place.� Just a place doesn�t do it for me. I need a little more than that�

So�Anyway�I was thinking about all of this on my way home, and feeling rather badly about it, and trying to talk myself into a better place on the subject, you know, to feel constructive about it instead of just tired and pissed off.

By the time I got home, I�d done a halfway decent job of it, feeling ready to go in and sit down and talk to him as we packed to go away with our families for the holiday. I was having Felicity flashbacks�be the ball, Jennifer.

When I opened the door, I found him sitting on the couch, eating dinner. Without me. Even though he knew I was on my way home, and I couldn�t have been more than 15 minutes away when he started making his plate.

Yeah. So much for teamwork.

It all spilled out about 20 minutes later, once I�d gotten through my storming angrily around the house phase.

The kicker is, though, that he�s completely clueless. He didn�t understand any of what I said to him. As far as he was concerned, the fact that we see each other in passing for 20 minutes a day before I fall into bed exhausted seemed to be fine.

I guess this is the part where they say marriage is hard. I just didn�t expect it to start three months from the I do�s.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (3 people have spoken already)

< Friend Thanksgiving | So tomorrow becomes the big day... >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona