Friend Thanksgiving
November 25, 2002 - 5:45 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I had something to say today. Really, I did.

Not that I can now remember what it was...

Yesterday, we celebrated our fourth now-annual Friend Thanksgiving. Fifteen of us gathered in the Condo for turkey and all the traditional (and not-so-traditional) sides. Yummy. Food was good. Companionship was better.

Thanksgiving was my favorite holiday for years. All the family, none of the pressure. Lots of food.

Now, in lots of ways, I look more forward to the day with my chosen family, the people who surrounded me yesterday, than the day with my given (or married into) family. There's less expectation in the Friend Day.

The Husband and I worked our asses off to get the Condo in shape for all that company. Finally, three months in, it looks right in there. Feels like home. Finally.

Amazing what a few pictures on the wall and some bookshelves will do.

It was more than that, really, but that's part of it. What is home but the place you feel most familiar? And how can it feel familiar if your "stuff" isn't there. I don't even mean just tangible stuff. That's only part of it.

Now, the kitchen holds some memories. We start to take root. It's not just walls and floors and ceilings.

Wednesday, we head North for a few days. Ought to be interesting. I'm witholding judgement on it.

Full report next Monday.

Little snatches until then. At least until we head to the woods.

Pleasant evening, all...

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Sleep is good. Or so I've heard, | Welcome Nolan! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona