Tired. And pissed. Oh, and tired.
2002-03-12 - 5:55 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I�m feeling exceedingly worn out today.

The Midnight entry was a bad idea. Not because of what it says, but because it kept me from being asleep. Except that I didn�t feel ready for sleep yet, which is how I ended up on the computer in the first place.

I could sit and whine for a couple paragraphs about how crappy I feel, but it wouldn�t make me feel any better. It would just serve to make y�all hate me, and I don�t want to make that happen, so I spare you the details, d-land.

Instead, I�ll try to piece together my afternoon.

A few days ago, the Boyfriend and I were talking, and I told him that my mom had asked me if I would plan to spend Easter night at the house. Between David�s death and the melodrama that�s taken place in my family as of late, she�s pretty much dreading the holiday, and isn�t certain exactly who�s going to show up. But she wants to have dinner, per usual, so we�re going forward. However, the thought of ending up alone in the house that night was too much for her, so she asked if I would stay. She said, �[the Boyfriend] can stay, too,� and looked so plaintive, I didn�t even hesitate to say yes. Not that I would have hesitated anyway. It�s not that big a deal for me to start my day from there�it doesn�t change my alarm time. Or my travel time, to any great extent. So it was settled.

The Boyfriend got this odd look on his face. �So, Marie is still planning Easter, like normal?� He seemed surprised. Somehow, he thought she�d change her mind.

We didn�t really discuss it much further than that. I knew Mom was planning that his family would be there, although she hadn�t actually called Betsy and invited them yet. We hadn�t really gotten around to talking about it in detail. It hadn�t been time yet.

So�

The other day, the Boyfriend mentioned that his mom was talking about going away for part of the weekend again, but that he didn�t think he was going to go stay overnight. They did this last year, too.

Today, he emailed me and said, �I talked to Mom this morning and discovered that she made dinner reservations for Easter at the Daniel Webster Inn. So now I'm left to coordinate my day. Do you know what time your mom is thinking of having dinner?�

I answered him and said, �I don't know. Some time in the afternoon. She hasn't given me specifics. Why would your mom make plans for you without saying anything to you? That seems kind of weird...�

He sent back, �We had talked about it a week ago and she asked what was going on. I said I would find out. Not that I took that long to get back to her, but I did not

think they were going to run out and make plans that quickly. But as she said, Easter is coming up very soon. Though I did know that at least Mom and Amy where planning to go over night. Dad's considering staying over too and has asked if I wanted to. However, I can change our reservations if I need to, make them earlier or something. Which is why I asked about dinner time at your Mom's.�

Again, I answered him. �Well, generally, she plans dinner for around 2:00, I think. I know we both have to work the next day, so she was hoping to keep it as something of an early day. I believe she was planning to invite your family for dinner, but I guess she didn't move fast enough...�

Two minutes later, my phone rang. I let the voicemail pick it up, knowing it would be the Boyfriend. He left a somewhat nervous, rambling message, telling me that he�d talked to his mom, and when Amy made the reservations, she�d had to put down a deposit that she didn�t think was refundable, and he would try to change the reservation to a different time, because he�d much rather come to have dinner with us than go to the restaurant with them, and he�d let me know what he found out.

I believe a couple things happened here.

I think his mother told him to find out what was happening with Easter, and he dragged his feet and didn�t ask, and she got mad and went ahead and made plans for them regardless. I believe, although, he didn�t say this, that he had the power to affect the outcome of this situation much earlier on, but he putzed around and she got fed up. I have seen this happen before with other things.

However, I also believe that there�s a little vindictiveness in this. She made plans for the FOUR of them�herself, Amy, the Boyfriend and his dad�without asking him what my plans were. She ASSUMED that it would be fine to take him away from us on Easter. She played her Mom card, with the full belief that he�d just sit back and allow her to direct his holiday.

She made holiday plans for her family. I wasn�t part of those plans.

He called me again a little while ago. I probably wasn�t the warmest I�ve ever been. He told me that he�d changed their dinner reservations for 11:30, hoping that they�d be able to eat and then come. He�d also found out that the deposit was refundable, should they want to cancel and just come to join us.

He didn�t, however, share any of this with his mom yet.

I do not want to make this woman my enemy. She�s his mother, and she�ll always be his mother, and I know that they are a package deal.

However�

Right now, I�m exhausted. Worn out. Waving my white flag. I feel like my grip on sanity and reality is rather tenuous.

I don�t know that I can handle battling with Betsy for the Boyfriend right now.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< blah blah blah coldfeetcakes | A resolution of some kind, I guess >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona