Breakfast is the most important meal of the day
2002-02-12 - 9:30 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Baked Apple French Toast

� c brown sugar, packed
2 T light corn syrup
� c butter
4 granny smith apples, peeled and cut into � inch thick slices
12 slices day-old French bread
3 eggs
� c milk
� t cinnamon
1 t vanilla

Melt butter, corn syrup and sugar together over low heat. Cook until thick. Spread resulting syrup into bottom of ungreased 9�x13� pan. Layer apples into syrup.

Beat eggs, milk, vanilla and cinnamon together until well-mixed. Dip bread slices into mixture until thoroughly soaked. Arrange bread on top of apples. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Remove from refrigerator half an hour before baking. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes, until golden brown.


I made breakfast for the Boyfriend�s family on Sunday morning. I highly recommend the recipe. The brown sugar/corn syrup/butter mixture cooks into a caramel on the stovetop, but then becomes a syrup-like sauce when baked. It was truly delicious.

As they were leaving, Betsy thanked me for cooking, then said, �Good to know my son won�t starve.� Gee, thanks. I know she meant it as a compliment, but she has this way of making everything sound like a dig. Whatever. Breakfast was good nonetheless.

Anyway�

It�s been a busy few days. Friday was my first day off on my new schedule�how nice it was to not come in! Made the early mornings worthwhile! Mom and I took full advantage of the time. We got a lot accomplished, including lunch with David�s parents and a trip to the Build-A-Bear store in Attleboro for my cousin�s daughter�s fourth birthday party. I wanted to build a bear myself, but my mom said no�Oh well�maybe next time.

(Yes, I know I�m 31 years old, and I can make my own decisions, and her saying no doesn�t really mean I couldn�t build a bear, but she threatened me with time out!)

I got my hair permed, too. Still not entirely sure how I feel about this. The rest of the world seems to like it. I haven�t had a perm, though, since the early 90�s, when I had a succession of really bad ones! So it goes. It�s easy hair, which has a great appeal. The 45 seconds of prep time is a good thing, especially with my mornings being so early these days. Perhaps, eventually, I�ll get around to posting a photo of it. I don�t want y�all to have this �Jennifer as a poodle� mental image�

I know I have more to say, but I can�t seem to focus this morning. My head is killing me. The Tylenol I took before bed, the 8 hours of sleep, the Tylenol I took this morning�none of it has appeared to help. Consequently, I�m moving a little slowly.

I will say, though, that I went to see I am Sam with Jim last night. Made me cry. A lot. But it was a very sweet movie. Sean Penn was wonderful in it, as was the little girl who plays his daughter. Worth the 8.50 ticket.

More later, perhaps, if I can get my headache to go away.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< How many minutes left in today? | Balance would be good. Yes. >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona