I'm Certified now!
2001-07-03 - 1:51 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

My friend Mark reminded me yesterday that about two years ago, I took a marriage predictor test on Emode. The test asks questions about how you view relationships and what�s important to you, then analyzes how ready you are to make that commitment and offers up a date for your wedding. I completely forgot about the test until Mark mentioned it. Which he did because it dead on predicted my wedding date. This is a little spooky, if you ask me. But I feel like it�s evidence that we picked a good day!

Last night was BARCC graduation. I am now officially a Massachusetts-certified rape crisis counselor and a public educator for BARCC! Wow! I made it through the training, even with the hairy spots toward the end. I feel accomplished and excited and ready to put what I�ve learned into action.

In a lot of ways, it was a hard night. Hard to end something that had been so emotional and such a huge part of my day-to-day life. The women I trained with are all dynamic and intelligent people whom I feel honored to have met and whom I look forward to working with. And although we�ll all be working in the same place, we won�t all be together like we have been through the certification process, and I�ll miss that, as tired as it�s made me. I am so glad I made the decision to go ahead and do this. How lucky I�ve been to have the opportunity.

I�m starting to plan in my head, too. I asked Jordan last night about things like benefits and fundraisers.

Once upon a time, the Artboy talked to me about doing a benefit show in Melissa�s memory. I wasn�t in any place to plan something like it before, but now, the idea of doing something to honor her memory and send the message that she has not been forgotten AND benefit BARCC is very appealing to me. He has the connections to make it happen, if he�s willing to offer them up. All I have to do is ask. Which is the hard part.

I still know enough people that the planning would be easy enough to pull off, both on the show side and the BARCC side. The two most difficult areas would be working with the Artboy and talking to Melissa�s family, which I would have to do if the event was to have her name attached to it.

Hey, I could start with her dad. He never said he hated me. Maybe I could leave her mom for someone else.

I�m excited to DO something with what I�ve learned.

Off to my grandparents� house tonight. The Boyfriend and I are spending the night there with Di and Erik, then heading to my uncle�s tomorrow for a family cookout. Ought to be interesting. I get to see my Uncle Bill for the first time since he had his hair implants done. Reason enough to go right there, if you ask me!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Graduation Day | No Fireworks for me >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona