No Fireworks for me
2001-07-05 - 4:43 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

A note to whoever spent over an hour on July 3rd reading a huge chunk of my entries�say hello, would you? Thanks.

I have been sitting at my desk for the past couple hours, thinking about cookies.

Instead of thinking about cookies, I should be filing. There�s more paper on my desk right now than there ever has been before in the three years I�ve held this job.

I am so tired today that I feel ill.

The Boyfriend and I went to my uncle�s house yesterday for a family cookout. That part of my day was relaxing and fun.

Later, we stopped at his friend Kirk�s house to �watch the Boston fireworks.� This never happened. Instead, I watched the Boyfriend and his drunken friends stand on the beach and try not to light each other on fire as they lit off several hundred dollars� worth of home fireworks. That part of my day was stressful and not fun.

I woke up at 3:00 this morning in a panic with the realization that the check for the barn deposit and the signed contract were still in my bedroom. I was supposed to send it back on Monday and completely forgot about it until the middle of the night. Still not sure what made me remember. I�ve mailed it now, and called the site manager to make sure she wasn�t going to give away our date. We�re all set. The damage is done, though. I already lost the sleep.

My friend Mark and I walked to Sorento�s in the Fenway for lunch today--a good choice. I had chicken and fettuccine Florentine (chicken and fettuccine with mushrooms and spinach in a light cream sauce). I�m at a loss to describe how yummy my lunch was. The company was good, too. Mark is married to M, who works at the same company as the Boyfriend. There are a lot of weird similarities in our lives, which makes our friendship an easy one. He and M, I think, will end up being �couples friends� of the Boyfriend�s, and mine, which is good. Then, perhaps, we can spend fewer nights watching drunken boys light off fireworks.

I feel bad about my attitude toward last night. Well, I feel a little bad. He came out to my cousin�s house on Tuesday night and spent the night, then spent all day surrounded by my family, which I know isn�t always easy. We were at Kirk�s house for about two hours, and I was ready to leave ten minutes after we arrived.

It�s not that I don�t like the people who were there. Many of them have become my friends, too, over the past couple years. But last night, I was tired�STILL tired from the past couple weeks, compounded by �I�ve been in the sun all day� tired�and I knew I had to work today (he didn�t�he took the week off to paint the new condo), and I hate home fireworks. Especially when the people lighting them off are so drunk they can barely walk. Not my idea of fun.

And I�m sorry I made him feel like I didn�t want to be there, except that I didn�t want to be there. And he made that decision for both of us, and didn�t give me an opportunity to have a say in it, which I don�t think is really fair.

So I guess I don�t feel bad, truly, about what happened last night. I wasn�t angry with HIM, but I really just wanted to go home.

I am cranky-overtired. I need to stop typing and just go home and go to bed.

Hope the 4th treated you all well.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< I'm Certified now! | Yummy! >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona