Good weekend, bad morning
2002-04-15 - 1:40 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Reasons why I really wish I didn�t feel crappy today:

1. I had a really good, if not exceedingly busy weekend, and I�d like to savor the good feeling left over from it

2. Both my bosses are out today, resulting in a very low-key workday

3. It�s beautiful outside, and I�d like to be able to enjoy the weather

4. Today is a holiday in Massachusetts, but not in the hospital, and it�s bad enough that I have to work, but combining that with working and feeling icky is just not good.

Really, I had a good weekend. Friday night, the Boyfriend and I met Steve and Erica for pizza at Town Spa, and then went back to their house to pick up chairs. How can a weekend that starts with Town Spa pizza be anything but good! Mom and I made two trips, one Friday and one Saturday, to the new Kohl�s in Walpole, where I bought ten pairs of socks, two shirts, two dresses, a skirt and a pair of sunglasses for the summer. I also snuck down to Joanne�s Fabrics and used my half-price Saturday only coupon to buy myself a Xyron machine, which I have since used to magnetize and laminate my favorite Boyfriend photos to put on my desk.

Saturday was Birthday Party Day, and everything went fairly smoothly. We had no no-shows (other than the Boyfriend�s sister, who told him two hours before the party that she wasn�t coming, lied to him that she was going to babysit, and then headed in to her �boyfriend�s� house. I say �boyfriend� because last weekend, she was in tears over a phone call he�d received while she was there from another woman�one he�d met in a bar and given his phone number to. Amy bitched him out and blabbed to the world that she didn�t want to see him any more. Now she�s lying about her whereabouts and blowing off her brother�s birthday. Nice.). The food was good. The Condo looked good. He got extremely thoughtful gifts. Everyone mixed well. His friend Robie said to me, �Jen, it�s great that you did this. I�ve always felt bad that no one ever made a big deal out of [the Boyfriend]�s birthday.�

The Boyfriend was thrilled. He went to sleep happy. The next morning, he thanked me a thousand times for pulling the party together. Amazing how easy it is to make him happy. I guess his expectation level wasn�t very high to begin with�

Sunday, Mom and I went to a virtual baby shower. Virtual because Heidi, the guest of honor, is in Colorado, and we were celebrating in Massachusetts. Her mother and sister-in-law didn�t let that stop them from planning a big celebration, though. We played games that involved talking to Heidi on the phone while we also attempted to hold a �baby� (Heidi�s old Cabbage Patch Kid), a basket of laundry and a basket of clothespins, and hang the clothes on a ridiculously high clothesline temporarily strung across the living room. We ate lots and lots and lots of food. We opened each other�s gifts and described them to her on the phone. Today, her mom is packing up all the presents and a video of the whole event and sending it off to her. Distance, I guess, is a matter of perspective.

I think I ate too much sugar, though. That might be part of why I feel so gross today.

Since both Donna and Steve are out, though, I�m thinking of bailing for the afternoon. Kind-of a little present, to Jennifer, from Jennifer.

Yeah, that�s my plan.

Oh, but before I go, congratulations Lampshade on your immunity! Your entry deserved its votes!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< The Broken Internet and Thursday's entry | Walking Again >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona