Walking Again
2002-04-16 - 1:33 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

And so I put my big plea out once again.

This Saturday, I am walking in Cohasset branch of this year�s MS Walk. I will be joining 6,000 participants to support the MS Society�s mission to end the devastating effects of multiple sclerosis. MS is a disease that randomly attacks your central nervous system, wearing away the control you have over your body. In the summer of 1992, my mom was diagnosed with MS.

Up to now, she�s been lucky. Her episodes have been spread out, many of them mild, but the disease gets progressively worse each year, with the symptoms multiplying, the episodes extending, the periods between them shortening. In December of last year, she went through IC drug therapy treatment to stop an episode for the first time since her diagnosis. The likelihood that this will happen again, now that she�s done it once, increases hugely as she gets older and the disease progresses.

This will be our sixth walk year. Every time we go, I look around and feel very blessed. My mom is not the person walking with braces on her legs. She�s not one of the people traveling the route in a wheelchair. She can see the beauty of the area as we walk along the ocean. But I know that this COULD be her future if the disease has its way. Which is why I do this walk, why I ask for sponsors, why I support the MS Society.

The MS Society funds research that has made great strides in treating patients like my mom, and people much worse off than her. They fund wonderful programs for people living with MS and their family members. They are an amazing organization, and much of their financial support comes from events like this one.

Our team, the Wild Women, raised almost $1500 last year. We�d like to beat that number this year, but I can only do it with the help of people like you to support our cause. If you would like to sponsor me in the walk, you can do it a couple different ways. With a credit card, you can click here and be linked to my online donation account. Or you can email me by clicking on the link at the top left side of this page and ask me about how to make a non-credit card donation.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read through my plea. I�ll post photos from the walk next week.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (2 people have spoken already)

< Good weekend, bad morning | True Romance above the sheets >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona