Many, many things, all running through my head
December 12, 2002 - 5:41 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Hey, do me a favor�send Blue some breakup songs, wouldja? She needs them for a project. I gave her my favorites�Breaking Us in Two by Joe Jackson, Last Goodbye by Jeff Buckley and Never Going Back by Morphine. Add yours to her mix.


A few minutes ago, I sent Allen and Donna an email, explaining that I�d left a resume on both their desks that one of the other people in the department had sent over, someone who might be interested in my job. Strange, helping to recruit to fill your own chair. But good. It�s only my chair for eight more days, and I don�t want all the projects I�ve put in place to fall apart from lack of attention.


The visiting hours for Deb are tomorrow afternoon and evening, with a service on Saturday morning. I�ve thought about my options in detail and decided I�m not going. It�s too close, too soon still. What happened to David happened to her. I will send a card to her husband and memorialize her in my own way. Instead of walking through the receiving line, listening to people who�ve never seen me before mouth a �thank you for coming� in my direction, I will celebrate her life by being with my family. Friday night, I will go to my mom�s for her yule log party and drink mulled cider and sing Christmas carols surrounded by people I�ve grown up surrounded by. Saturday, the Husband and I will wake up, have a post-party breakfast with my mom and then go to meet his mom to buy a Christmas tree. Saturday night, I will stand in the Apartment�s kitchen and raise my glass with all the people I haven�t seen since the wedding, the people who became my chosen family. And Sunday I will spend with just the Husband, something that hasn�t happened since the honeymoon.

In this way, I will celebrate her life, as I celebrate my own.

It seems much more appropriate, somehow.


The Husband and I met Kirk and Joe at the favorite Wollaston sushi bar for dinner last night. We sat at the actual bar, watching Jimmy, the owner and main chef, create little raw fish sculptures all night. The man has lightening hands, I tell you. Amazing. I don�t eat sushi, but they also have fabulous tempura and teriyaki as well.

Kirk looked at me and laughed. �So, tell me, Jennifer�why�d you quit your job?� When I hesitated before answering, he broke in again. �You�re pregnant, aren�t you? You�re with child. A bun in the oven. One on the way. Knocked up. Expecting. Pregnant!�

�Kirk, I�m not pregnant.�

�Yes, you are.�

�No�I�m not.�

�Yes, you are.�

�No.�

�Yes!�

�Okay, you�re right. We�re having a baby. We were going to try to keep it a secret, but why bother. Yep. I�m pregnant.�

�You ARE?!�

�No. I�m not pregnant. I�m just tired of arguing with you.�

Amazing how many people have jumped to this conclusion. We�ve been married for LESS THAN FOUR MONTHS, people!!!

I told the Husband last night, upon arriving home and discovering that he had neglected to clean out the guinea pig cage or change their food or water yesterday morning because he �didn�t have time,� that we couldn�t have a baby until he could take care of a pet. I think this is a fair comment.

�Uh, I know I was supposed to change the baby, but I was running late. He was changed yesterday�what�s the big deal?�

NOT an option!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Deb | From the >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona