always keep a spare
2001-06-11 - 12:24 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

I�m feeling greatly annoyed with myself and life in general right now.

Yesterday, I went to see my mom. We had a great day together. I stayed much longer than I�d planned. I gave her a pedicure, we planted some new flowers in the garden and planned my cousin�s bridesmaid tea. We talked about wedding stuff without her melting down at all and actually did a little bit of planning. It was the kind of day that reinforces our friendship beyond our family ties.

I parked in front of my house at about 10:30 last night. Because I had so many things to bring in, I piled them all on the front passenger seat to pull out that side instead of trying to get out of the car while all package-laden. My keys were in two small subsets�the car key on one key chain and the house keys on another�as I�d needed to go back into the apartment after I started the car yesterday, and hadn�t yet reattached them.

As I opened my Powerpuff Girls backpack (thanks again, Amy!) to take out the house keys, a van pulled up very close behind my car and live parked. I couldn�t see the driver, as the headlights were still on and shining right into my eyes. I closed my door so my light would go out and I wouldn�t be so visible. With one eye on my rearview mirror, I found my keys and dropped the car key into the backpack. Still watching the van, I got out of the car and walked around to the passenger side to get my large pile.

The door was locked.

The key was in my backpack.

The backpack was on the pile in the passenger seat.

I only have one key to the car.

Nana got rid of the spare one when my grandfather�s Alzheimer�s advanced to the point where his taking off in the car was a danger.

My wallet and subway pass are in the backpack, too. Also on that seat are all my BARCC training materials, which I should have with me for our session tonight.

Chris was in bed when I got inside. He left at 5:30 this morning. I tried myself to stick a coat hanger down there and finagle the lock open. I couldn�t even get it into the door.

Of course, I do not have AAA.

I am so not happy about this.

I had to come in on time this morning, as I had payroll to do. I have training tonight. Tomorrow, I need to drive back to my mom�s to help her out.

This means that unless Chris can get the door open, I will have to come in late tomorrow and call a locksmith to open the car. Which will probably cost me about sixty dollars.

Damn van.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Frustration and Genghis Jon! | full head >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona