Not much writing going on!
2001-11-06 - 12:27 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

So. Very. Sleepy. Today.

But it�s for such a good reason, so I won�t really complain.

I�d like to tell you all that I haven�t posted since Thursday because I�ve been far too busy writing my novel, but that would be a lie.

Work is in one of those �pay attention completely or fail� places right now, and I�ve chosen to pay attention. This seems to have been the right choice.

But more on that later.

My novel right now still sits at 1,574 words. Not much of a novel. But I still have 24 days left in November, and I firmly believe I�m going to finish. Especially now that I�ve met and talked to my writing partner.

I traveled out to meet Selila last night. I won�t give too much of her away, since I�m not sure how much of herself she�s comfortable with seeing on this page, but I will say that she is wonderful. From the moment I walked into her house, she made me feel comfortable and at ease. I never hit the point where I didn�t know what to say, and we covered a zillion different topics. And she made me a wonderful dinner, despite her claims to be kitchen-inept. And she let me play with her dog. And she gave me cake with no frosting�my favorite way to eat it! In fact, I enjoyed my evening so much that I didn�t get home until after Midnight, WAY past my usual bedtime, but I didn�t care, because I didn�t want to stop talking to her.

We never made it out the door to the NaNoWriMo meeting at the Someday Caf�, which was our original intent. We chose to sit on her couch surrounded by her art and sip mint tea while we discovered strange and unexpected parallels in our lives.

I lucked out, my friends. Keeping this journal brought an incredibly cool new person into my life, which I think is a good benefit.

Anyway�

So the rest of my life�

Is weird and busy and a little overwhelming right now. I�m attempting to do some mental housecleaning. I�d like to simplify a little bit, to remove the things that aren�t bringing me joy.

I spent a good part of the weekend while I was procrastinating on my writing project making ornaments for my Mediarama exchange. I�m a little leery of mailing cookies right now, so I thought I�d go the other way. I haven�t been crafty in a while. Erica came in on Sunday and found me sewing. That�s not something that happens often. It�s good, though. Good to concentrate, to produce something�a finished product, a gift for someone else.

I also went to a rubber stamp party on Saturday. Carla ran it�she�s started a business as a representative for the company, and Susie hosted it. Poor Carla�Susie�s family is insane and chaotic (in a fun way, though), and it�s hard to hold their attention for more than a five-second stretch. But she did very well, and I got to play with the stamps and be all crafty there as well.

Sunday, Susie found out that she�s pregnant. She and her husband have been going through in vitro, and apparently it worked. Her doctors aren�t yet sure if one, two or all three of the fertilized, implanted eggs have �caught,� so she could be having one baby, twins or triplets. They won�t know for a while.

I can�t imagine her family with the addition of twins or triplets. The thought makes my head spin a little.

Saturday night, we also found out that our friends Dickie and Michelle are having a baby. Michelle is due in May. She�s got the beer-belly baby look right now. Her news prompted the Boyfriend to look at me and say, �Maybe we should have a baby now, too!�

Yeah, right now, nine months almost exactly before the wedding�what a great time to get pregnant!

But, hey�at least the idea didn�t scare him beyond belief. This is good.

Dickie and Michelle shared their news with us at a birthday party for Erica. The Boyfriend went to the party wearing the ugliest shirt known to man. Damon asked him when we arrived if he�d come straight from his new part-time job as a rodeo clown.

It�s truly an ugly, evil piece of clothing.

The party started at 7, two towns away from the Condo. It was a surprise party. We were late.

I arrived at the house at about 6:50, ran in, yelling that I needed three minutes to be ready to go, and found the Boyfriend asleep on his bed, not dressed, not ready.

As I ran around like a lunatic, he ambled to the bathroom, meandered through the closet, leisurely put on his shoes.

I turned to find him buttoning the ugly shirt.

�You aren�t really wearing that, are you?�

�What�s wrong with this shirt?�

�Nothing, if you�re prepared to have people make fun of your clothing choice all night.�

�Why would they do that?�

�Because it�s ugly! It�s seven different colors and 11 different patterns! It looks like it�s been stuck in the reject pile of someone�s closet since 1972!�

�I like this shirt.�

�God help me!�

We went out to the car, finally. He wore the terrible shirt.

We were looking for the turn onto Route 27 in Whitman off of Route 18. Once on 27, he said we were looking for Legion Street on the right.

I�d tried to take the directions from my house on Friday. He said to leave them for Chris, he knew where we were going.

�How far down is Legion Street?�

�Not far.�

Two miles later, I suggested we turn around. Another half mile down the road, he did just that.

�Maybe we should stop and ask?�

�No, I know where it is.�

We drove up 27. No Legion Street. We drove down 27 again. Still no Legion Street. �Are you sure there�s not another turn first, before we get onto Legion Street?�

�Yes, I�m sure. It�s here somewhere.�

Route 27 branches to the right. West Street goes left. We went down West Street. No Legion Street there. We drove back up West Street, back onto 27, down 27 again.

We�d been driving around the neighborhood for half an hour.

Finally, he pulled into the Tedeschi�s parking lot. �I think I�ll ask.�

�Great. Why don�t you do that, since the driving aimlessly until the hall magically appears in front of us method doesn�t seem to be working.�

What a surprise. Getting to the hall required a turn from 27 onto Washington Street, THEN a turn onto Legion Street.

I will never leave the house without directions again.

We were an hour and twenty minutes late for the party. Needless to say, we missed the surprise.

Later, just before we fell asleep, he apologized for making the process of getting there so difficult.

I put my arms around him and closed my eyes.

The party just wasn�t that important.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< It's November! I'd better start writing! | tough choices >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona