Damn doctors
2002-03-14 - 4:13 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Oh--I meant to mention...See that box over to the side, the one way down the bottom that says "Notify list" under it? If you put your email address in there, I might send you candy. Or at least a little note when something new goes on the page. At least that...


Four.

There are still four people who haven�t voted in the second tribal council.

Last time I looked, there were seven people who hadn�t voted yet.

Not that it matters. The poll stays open until tomorrow night regardless. But that doesn�t stop me from looking.

Anyway�

I�m feeling scattered today. My brain doesn�t want to stay in one place for too long. I�m not certain how it got to be Thursday at 3:30.

Actually, I�m more than scattered. I�m short-tempered and a little confrontational.

I told Damon this morning that I needed a Jennifer Day. A day where I don�t have to go to work or take care of my mom or plan anything wedding-related or entertain the Boyfriend or hold Chris up or clean the attic or have people over to watch Buffy or think about anything or anyone else other than me.

Of course, the chances of that happening any time soon are next-to-nonexistent.

I had an argument with one of our doctors this morning.

I have two filing cabinets in the area around my desk. One contains the HR files on the administrative and research employees in the department, along with all the managers and the residents and fellows. This is all confidential information. It�s kept locked and in a semi-secure area where I can keep an eye on who goes in and out of it. The other is my personal files, where I keep copies of all the check requests, purchase requisitions, key requests, computer requests, etc�the things I use to make the department run somewhat smoothly. I also have copies of reimbursement requests for my techs in there and the backup materials for the monthly benchmark newsletter I put out, and I keep the area paper supply locked in the bottom drawer. Again, it�s where I can keep an eye on it.

Dr. R., who is notorious for believing that his own opinion is the only valid one, stormed into Diane�s office today, complaining that the waiting area for visitors to his office and the head of the department�s office isn�t big enough, and we need to reconfigure the space to give more room for chairs.

Mind you, when I started in this job, four years ago, there were two desks in this area. Now, there are five.

I have moved four times in four years, each time to a progressively smaller and less private work area. My cubicle now is about 6� x 8�. It�s been compared to a feeding pen.

Dr. R. started making plans to move my files away. To the other side of the floor. Without saying a word to me or even having any idea what was in the cabinets. When I spoke up and said, �Umm�I need to keep those somewhere over in this area, as I need what�s in them on a regular basis, and some of it is confidential,� he got up in my face and started yelling that he didn�t care what I wanted, this was going to happen and I was going to have to find a way to make it work.

Okay, first, this wasn�t a conversation I was even included in. I don�t have to make anything work for me.

Second, little man, you aren�t God, and your word doesn�t rule. Any changes you want to make have to go through the proper channels.

Third, where the hell do you get off treating me like that anyway? The fact that I�m not a doctor doesn�t make me a second class citizen.

Had he come over and said, �Listen, Jennifer, we�re trying to find a way to reconfigure the space so that the files are still accessible but the waiting area is large enough to accommodate our needs�what do you think?� I would have been more than happy to work with him.

But back me into a corner, you stupid asshole, and I�ll come up elbows out, ready to fight.

It put a shadow on my whole day.

Grrr�Arrgh�

Tomorrow, Mom and I are taking Carla and her mom to NH for lunch to celebrate their birthdays. Saturday, the Boyfriend and I are accompanying her to a church auction in Attleboro. Sunday, we head off first to his dead friend�s parents, then to Steve and Erica�s for St. Patrick�s Day fun, or at least a game or two.

Somewhere in there, I get to sleep. And in the meantime, I�ll try not to put anyone�s eye out.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< A resolution of some kind, I guess | Sleepwalking through my day >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona