Hard to find the right thing to say
2001-12-27 - 10:43 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

So I spent a good portion of last night sitting in front of the iMac, trying to draft a response to yesterday. After about 36 tries, I think I came up with something that doesn�t sound too whiny, or call anyone names, or play the blame-placing game.

Now, if they�d just go ahead and give me the review, I could pass this off and move forward.

That would be really, really good.

My letter reads as follows:

Although I understand the contents of my review, and either agree with or will not challenge what it says, I do feel I need to add something to it as well.

My last performance review was done with Donna for April 1999 in the fall of 1999. Although there is no written evaluation from that review, Donna and I did discuss my performance at that point, and she told me that she and Steve thought I was doing my job well. We have not had another formal discussion of my job performance until now, December 2001.

Since then, admittedly, my performance has changed. I am aware of the fact that I have not been working as well, but I did not realize that either of my supervisors were so dissatisfied with my work. I don�t add these comments to try and blame anyone else for my performance issues, but I do question the timing of this information.

I�m sorry that this review does not reflect that fact. I don�t know that the effort has even been recognized, just as I didn�t know you felt I was producing so poorly. The review process is meant to be done periodically for a reason. I don�t know in reading this review how long you�ve felt this way; Does it go as far back as April 2001, or as far back as April 2000? If so, I don�t understand why you would wait so long to address the issue and settle for what you�ve seen as sub-par work. That becomes a disservice not only to me, but also to yourselves and the entire department. If it hasn�t been that long, then this becomes an unfair review for a period that ended last April.

Over the past couple months, I have been working to improve some of the areas in which I know I have been delinquent. As we pass into the beginning of January, we are approximately three months from the due date for my 2002 review. I hope that at that point, we can sit down and readdress these issues.

I have enjoyed working with both of you since I rejoined the Radiology department. I would like to believe that we have a good relationship. Part of that, though, means that I have to trust that, as my supervisors, you will let me know if you see an issue with my work before it becomes such a problem.

Thank you.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Going on two years late, now. Whatever--who cares--it's Christmas! | Vomiting on her desk probably wouldn't be an appropriate response to the conversation >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona