On War and Bad Grammar
March 23, 2003 - 11:00 a.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

From the "comments" section of my last entry:

"You know I love you Jen but its avoiding the news that allows you to make retarded statements like that. Its people who are clueless about whats going on that are wrong with this country. Do the research instead of just jumping on the anti war band wagon.... LOVE Phil"

Dear Phil~

I wanted to put my reply to that in here and share it with anyone who might be reading this, because it made me think a lot.

First, my comments in the last entry weren't really about the *war*, but about the president and his grammatical errors. I stand by my feelings. When it's okay for the president to say "nucular" it just reinforces people's inability to speak their own native language correctly. The man has advisors and speech writers up the wazoo, but can't pronounce that word the way it's pronounced, and I think that's disgraceful. I also think it's disgraceful that my husband can't pronounce it. I think it makes him (either "him") sound uneducated, and I know in both cases that it isn't true. I think it's worse when the president does it on national TV in a broadcast that starts a war, though. He has a responsibility that the Husband doesn't, and I think he shirks it through his speech.

I will, however, now comment briefly on the war. I watch enough of the news to know what's happening in the world. I listen to the updates as they come across the radio on my stations that generally play music, because they give me in a nutshell the important things that are going on. I do not watch the continuous news coverage, because I don't need to be inundated with the same photos and the same stories until they make me sick.

I don't believe that war is a good solution to problems. Even this problem. I think George W. decided long ago that he was going to start this war, come hell or high water, and all the "attempts" to settle the problem peacefully were smoke and mirrors, as nothing was going to deter him from the big payoff. That big payoff comes at the cost of thousands of lives. My mom's best friend's son is in the Marines. There's a good chance he'll end up in combat (he's in Okinawa right now). Blue's Father is over there, too, leaving her at home worried about him, not as a military leader, but as a person, as her father. One of my old coworkers from the Hospital, a medic in the reserves, just got called up for active duty. He's in Virginia at the moment but could be gone any time. The best man from our wedding is in the Coast Guard, patrolling New York's harbors. Chances are he'll be okay, but it's still a chance.

Over and over we heard GWB accuse the Iraquis of harboring biological and chemical weapons. Somehow I don't understand the wisdom in forcing them to prove the weapons' existence.

In seven months, I will have a child. I have no idea what kind of world that child will be born into. I would prefer it not be one torn apart by war.

I just don't think it's a good solution.

love,

Jennifer

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (2 people have spoken already)

< \"Nucular\" Weapons | A tough couple of weeks >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona