A mixed bag Monday
March 07, 2005 - 4:14 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

Happy Monday, all.

At the end of Gymboree this morning, Will and I were greeted with the happy news that he is ready to graduate from GymWalkers to GymRunners. Not bad for a baby who, five weeks ago when we started the class, could barely take three consecutive steps on the mats. Today, he was running across the play area, walking up the ramp mats, and sliding on his belly, face-first, on the slides*. That's my son, the climbing savant. Somehow, this wasn't my first choice skills for him to master, but I guess we take our expertise where we can get it.

*I think, perhaps, he's practicing on how to slide into second base.

He's also working his way toward disnified at an early age. For Christmas, my mom gave the Husband Feed Me Pumbaa, who makes lovely farty noises when you pull his tail or feed him his bugs (or the clicker, or the cell phone, or anything else that you can jam in his mouth). It's become one of Will's favorite toys. I knew a while ago that he knew who Pumbaa was, since he could pick him up if you asked, "where's Pumbaa?" Recently, he also pointed at him and said something that sort of resembled Pumbaa, though it was more like pmmBUH!

Yesterday evening, he was walking around the kitchen with my mom, saying "pmmBUH! pmmBUH! pmmBUH!" She looked around and said, "he's not out here, Will--go find Pumbaa!" Will looked at her for a moment, and then walked over to the giant warehouse box of baby wipes we'd purchased earlier that was now in the middle of the floor. "pmmBUH! pmmBUH! pmmBUH!" My mom stopped and looked. The whole side of the box was covered in Lion King pictures, including...you guessed it--several pictures of Will's friend Pumbaa.

This child is getting too smart for MY own good.

He and I journeyed south with Betsy today to get the ribbon for Amy's favors and programs. By taking her to RycO to get it, I figure I saved her at least $100 over what the swanky stationery store was going to charge her. Somewhere along the line, I believe I will be rewarded. Probably not by her, but somewhere, somehow, some way...

Thankfully, I did not have to pay for the ribbon. I do, however, have to pay for my shoes to be dyed. Add another $18 to the wedding total...

It's only money. Right???

At least her gift is purchased, paid for, and off my list of things to consider. When L0ngaberger had its big January sale, I purchased a cake basket with riser and pie plate in sage as a set with the consultant discount. I'm going to fill the basket with some food goodies and leave it in their hotel room the night of the wedding. I know I was STARVED when we got back that night, and I thought it would be a nice surprise. Nothing fancy, but some stuff that might taste good at Midnight once the stress has worn off.

The Husband wanted to know what else we were getting them to add to the gift. I told him we were getting them a $180 dress and a $70 pair of dyed blue shoes and a pair of $85 pants and a $60 white button down shirt and a $150 blue blazer and a pair of $20 kid khakis and a $20 kid button-down oxford onesie and a pair of $30 brown baby shoes and a $350 hotel room. He thought that seemed like enough. Or, at the very least, he was smart enough to drop the subject.

(I shouldn't have written it all out that way. It makes it way too easy to add up, and I know that isn't yet everything...)

Breathe in. Breathe out. Breathe in. Breathe out.

I think I need another cup of tea and a little time alone with my new copy of Eating Well magazine.

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (0 people have spoken already)

< Girls who wear glasses... | Printing envelopes for fun and profit >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona