Alliances, voting processes and insane uncles
2002-04-19 - 5:20 p.m.

Sponsor me in the 2005 MS Walk! Why? Read here.

Adopt a Soldier!

As I stated Wednesday, I would love to have any of you sponsor me in the MS Walk on Saturday. Even if you read this after Saturday and want to sponsor me, you still can! Many thanks to the lovely folks who have sponsored me already. I'm still waiting for a few of you to send me your addresses, so I can mail you one of my very special thank you�s after the walk is over.


I've been thinking a lot about the stuff happening with the Survivor game right now.

I said the other day that I've been voting by writing alone. Honestly, when I really think about it, that's not entirely true.

I've been using a few criteria when I vote: writing ability and style, diary appeal, and my own opinion as to how each player is playing the game. I haven't been voting to better my position, but to eliminate the people that, for whatever reason, best fit my admittedly arbitrary criteria at the time of the vote.

There are people with varying degrees of ability to express themselves in this little box playing the game. Each one of us uses the box for our own purpose. The diaries that appeal to me most are the ones that use it for the same kind of purpose I do. Others--not so much. Doesn't mean I don't think they're good writers. Just means that for whatever reason, I don't personally find them the most readable.

Some of the players are people I wish lived in my neighborhood. One of them is already gone. I certainly didn't cast my vote against her. If this were a real island, there are players I'd choose to share a tent with, and some I'd rather not interact with by choice at all.

That's going to be true any time a group of people is put together, for whatever reason.

I don't resent the alliance for forming an alliance. It's a strategy. I haven't been playing with one of those, at least not up to now. In the past couple days, I have talked to a few of the other players, discussed the state of the game, talked about the way things have played out. I haven't been interested in being a part of an alliance since the beginning. I'm not interested now.

What bothers me about it isn't so much the idea of an arbitrary decision being made for me--that isn't what I think has happened. I don't doubt for a minute that the decisions the alliance has made have been thought out at least as much as my votes.

What bothers me is the implication that they've mapped the game out already, that they've decided among themselves who's going to last until when. That removes all the fun out of playing.

Maybe I'm wrong. Maybe that isn't what happened. But this is my diary, and that's what's going through my head, and this is the space I have to empty it out.

I didn't change my vote after the hullabaloo that took place the other day. It stood as cast before Belinda's apology went up, before Mike talked about leaving, before any of the conversation happened. I cast it for my own reasons, which I still stand by and have no desire to change.

What happens from here will be very, very interesting. I look forward to watching the rest of the game, no matter what vantage point I see it from.


In other news, my aunt Ruthann, who is hosting a family shower for me in May, told me today that my Uncle Bobby's wife is not attending. She made some excuse to Ruthann, but I find it rather convenient.

Whatever, Chris. Whatever, Bobby. Go as far off the deep end as you want. Threaten, as you did again this week, to sue my mom until the end of time. It won't bring your parents back to life, make any of us love you, or fix whatever the hell is wrong in your head. All it does is make you both look bad. And if you don't come to the wedding--great. THat's two more seats for people I WANT to have there celebrating with me.

Off to have some homemade chicken soup, watch a movie, and rest up for tomorrow's walk. Send me some good walking vibes, Diaryland!

---------------------------------------------

Something to say about this entry?
Add your comments here (1 people have spoken already)

< True Romance above the sheets | Muriel >

How old is Will?
Lilypie Baby Ticker


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
clix
diary reviews

visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
guestbook
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Rings & Links

< ? beanring # >

< ? jens intl # >

< ? beantown # >

< ? pro-choice # >

< ? review-90 # >

< ? nanowrimo # >

< ? twiggle designs # >



Thanks
twiggle designs
brushes
diaryland

Buddies
iwinzulus
kitchenlogic
katybug
alicewonders
cuppajoe
genghis-jon
sidewaysrain
sequel
pischina
mychai
tvzero
fancyass
tokabison
taliana1
gofigure
trancejen
gumphood
southkona